Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Fabulous Bars! Try them you wont regret it! Everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Knight

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Eh... My boyfriend liked them but they were not very presentable and I didn't acre for them. Nor did my co-workers or his. Probably not going to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lonedell, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ballwin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These are wonderful! I've made these many times in the last two years, not sure why I haven't reviewed this before now. Anyway, I made according to recipe except that I used pecans instead of walnuts just b/c I don't care for them. I grease my glass pan and have never had a problem getting them out. They are definitely rich but even better topped with vanilla ice cream or whipped topping!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klhskygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is a very good cookie bar recipe. Adults and children seem to like it equally well..... Good as written, but a couple of clarifications on the recipe to make this better: First, the crust turns out better if the butter is softened to the point of melting, but hasn't actually turned to liquid. Second: Press down on the bottom filling lightly; DO NOT tap down hard as you won't be able to get it out of the pan. Third: You must use quick oates NOT rolled oats on this recipe. Helpful hints ~ First: For a change of pace, try half butterscotch and half chocolate chips or 1/2 caramel and 1/2 butterscotch topping for variety. Second: Slightly chill the carmelitas after they have finished baking. This helps the cooke bar "set-up". This is the one tip you don't want to forget on this recipe..... The carmelitas are great to make ahead, travel with or freeze to serve later. As my son would say: Scrumdiddlyumptios! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I made these two times, followed the recipe and they seemed a little runny. Will make them again but look for modifications to stop this from happening again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I started out making this for our cookie exchange here at work, but while typing out the recipe book we were handing out there seemed to be a lot of recipes with oatmeal and chocolate so I kept these for my husband and me to snack on and made something else. I'm SO glad I did.. I absolutely loved these cookies and they are now on my all-time favorite list. Absolutely agree that the 9x9 is not enough for 3 dozen but it is well worth doubling the recipe because the 9x9 is not enough for me. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
YUM Yum and yum! So good. I only made two small changes. I had some crushed up graham crackers so I threw 1/3 cup in the oatmeal mix. I didn't taste it much but think this could be good. I also didn't have walnuts so I used peanuts. This is soooo good. Only problem is it was hard to get out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I just finished making these and they are truly 5 star!! Made exactly as written, 9 by 9 pan, I can see actually how this would serve 36...I had one small decadent square and it was outstanding! I would maybe add MORE nuts, but that's because I am a nut fanatic! Absolutely delicious and worthy of a 5 star rating!! Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
quick to make and quick to be eaten...but next time I will try and cut down on the butter. The were very grease
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Arroyo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I LOVED these! Taste just like they came from the bakery, and they looked pretty too. Everyone enjoyed these, and even took some of them home! I followed the advice of others and used only softened butter vs. melted, other than that I followed this recipe to a T. I will certainly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States