Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
These are so yummy! I love caramel & chocolate. Someone said they were bland, I don't get that. These remind me somewhat of Magic Cookie Bars. The main difference, being the coconut in the MCBs. Someone also, called them Goober Cookies. Goobers are peanuts, so maybe they originally had peanuts in them. I prefer the walnuts, in this recipe. The nuts & oatmeal actually give you something healthy. ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Wow! These are absolutely indulgent! Mixing the caramel sauce with the flour is genius and keeps the caramel from running out of the bars. I used an 8" x 8" pan so my bars were a little thicker and my crumb topping went further. I just sprinkled chocolate chunks (instead of chips) and walnuts until I felt the surface area was sufficiently covered. These will be on my baking list for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Looked tastey, seemed bland to hubby & I. Fell apart, not in a good way either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
these are very rich & delicious. like others said, even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stanton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Better get yours quick because they never last long. even had people who don't care for carmel rave about these things. instant hit at any bake sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Good flavor, texture. I would suggest waiting until the next day to cut them up. Otherwise they will fall apart. Best served hot with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Fabulous! You can't go wrong with this recipe. Everyone loves them. No need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Super easy recipe, reviews on how they tasted aren't back yet. I omitted the nuts but didn't substitute anything more than a few extra semi-sweet chips, so that probably affected the consistency. Mine turned out a little gooey with all of the caramel. Next time, if I omit the nuts again, I will make more crust to contain everything. I did bake an extra 10 minutes to achieve the golden brown and used softened rather than melted butter as others have suggested. No problems getting it out of the well-buttered pan other than all of the sticky caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa-henry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These are one of the most delicious cookie recipes I have ever made.AND I just stumbled upon them one late night surfing! I agree with other reviewers that the final baking time should be increased to achieve golden brown color. I am now going to sub peanut butter and chocolate for one batch and dark chocolate and raspberry preserves for another and finally hazelnut spread for my final batch. I think there are really endless possibilities for this recipe and I'm sure they will not last long. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Excellent recipe! My kitchen is being remodeled, and I do not have a sink or dishwasher. I mixed the ingredients in a gallon sized zipper bag, melted the butter in a paper bowl and stirred the caramel with a plastic spoon. To bake them, I bought a cheap $1 foil pan. They came out HEAVENLY and without a single dish to wash!!! It's our new favorite recipe and I am baking another batch right now!!! The only thing I did differently was to use pecans instead of walnuts. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States