Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These are the most incredible bars. The flavors compliment each other very well. My family and I love them. My Husband actually ate two in one serving and that is very unusual considering they are so rich. Will be making these often. If you haven't tried them you should, they are so delicious. Thank you Sharon for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Valley Mills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Yummy!! I didn't have caramel ice cream topping but used butterscotch instead - very rich. The only negative I had was the topping was too crumbly - it fell apart when cutting and eating. I will try a bit more butter and refrigerating the baked recipe first before cutting when I make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I really liked this cookie but had problems cooking it. After the first bake they were a little gooey. After cookies were completly baked and cooled I ended up putting them in the fridge to harden them. They slightly reminded me of Shelia's Dream Bar from PotBelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Wow good. Took them to work and they were devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I have never had an Oatmeal Carmelita before. I was under the impression that these were supposed to be soft and gooey, but mines came out kinda crunchy. Personally, I don't mind the crunch, but no one else in my family could really eat them because of it. This is what I did: I doubled up the recipe of the crust. I used macadamia nuts instead of walnuts, and I used chocolate covered raisins instead of semi-sweet chocolate chips. I thought that with my modifications, this was going to be cloyingly sweet, but it really wasn't. In fact, I probably could've used more sugar. I'm really not sure if I'm going to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
These were very good, but very, very sweet. Don't get me wrong, I love sweet things...but even I have my limits! They need to be cut into small portions to tolerate them. My husband and I cut ourselves pieces that were about 2"x3" and they were too much to tolerate. We both ate ours over the course of an entire day! I used mini chocolate chips because I didn't want the chocolate to overpower the caramel, as one reviewer commented. I love the crust and topping and will use it for my Fall apple crisp this year. I'm not sure if I will make these again? I agree that they taste better the next day. Also, I had no trouble getting out of the pan after spraying with Pam. Great recipe for caramel lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
My new favorite bar cookie. So easy, and so quick. I agree with others that they're even better the 2nd day. I usually have all of the ingredients on hand, so I'm sure I'll be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Way to sugary, way too much butter! Would decrease both next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Double the recipe and make it in a 13X9 pan. They go so fast that is the only way I can make these around the house. These hands down are my Grandson's favorite bar cookie, every recipe is based on the question "is it as good as an Oatmeal Carmaelita Bar?". I am begining to wonder if these will be the Grooms cake at his wedding...I hope that is many years away but the thought does cross my mind ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
These are so yummy! I love caramel & chocolate. Someone said they were bland, I don't get that. These remind me somewhat of Magic Cookie Bars. The main difference, being the coconut in the MCBs. Someone also, called them Goober Cookies. Goobers are peanuts, so maybe they originally had peanuts in them. I prefer the walnuts, in this recipe. The nuts & oatmeal actually give you something healthy. ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States