Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This came out fantastic-I can see where there is alot of room to experiment with this recipe too by using different chips, filling, etc...I used regular semi-sweet choclate chips but next time I might try white chocolate chips. very very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
A little too sugary-sweet for my taste, but they still disappered. I toasted the nuts in the oven while the bottom layer was baking. Have a big glass of milk or coffee close by!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toothpkr97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Byron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Following other reviewers' advice, I used softened butter. Also, instead of using store bought caramel topping, I used the Butterscotch Ice Cream Topping from this web site. It's simple to make (I made it at the same time I made the crust) and it was much better than anything you could buy. Chilling helped it cup up nicely and was it ever good! We'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
So delicious! I only had one stick of butter in the house, but they came out great. I thought they were so good while still warm, but they're even better the next day! Mmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
After reading the reviews, I had to try them. They are great! I ate the first one out of the pan with a spoon while still hot (how good can THAT be!), the next ones in my lunch bag (crumbly but good) and the rest of them after sitting out on the counter. (Again, crumbly, but SO worth it). Followed the recipe as written, except did not measure the carmel or mix it with flour, just squeezed it out on the dough right from the bottle. Too much butter? Not that I could see. I didn't have to "blot" my crust after taking out from the first baking. A delicious, rich, satisfying cookie. Thanks Sharon M for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sistercat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, New York, USA
Living In: Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
this is a recipe i wish i could give TEN stars to!!! i made this for a ladies meeting i attended yesterday. RAVE REVIEWS all the way around. i don't like to make a recipe i have never tried before and take it somewhere. but this one sounded so good, i had to try it!! it was awesome. all the middle "gooey" stuff was AWESOME!!! will definitely be making it again (and again and again)!! could possibly cut back a bit on the butter....but then again, i don't want to mess with something that is sooooooo great!! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is my first rating and I have to rate it because these were very very yummy. I ate them warm and they were gooey. They did take about 35 min instead of the 15. I changed nothing in the reciepe and added the butter warm and used normal quaker oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
These are very tasty cookies. I followed the recipe except that I omitted the nuts, cut the butter to 1/2 cup, and increased the second cooking time to about 24 minutes. My husband and I wanted to eat them soon after I took them out of the oven, but they were still extremely gooey, so we used plates and forks. I think that's the best way to eat them! Just call it pie instead of cookies. The second day, they had firmed up (although they still had a gooey layer in the middle), but we didn't think they were quite as good as when they were fresh from the oven. They're very crumbly even after they set, so the plate is still necessary unless you eat outdoors (but I didn't try refrigerating as some reviewers suggested).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is definitely one that I will make again!! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
These were delicious, but I might have added less butter to the recipe had I realized how soft the crust and topping would be. I think next time I'll try adding the butter when it's still firm and cutting it in. Also, I used PB instead of the caramel topping since I didn't have any and the bars were good. But I'd note that if you're adding peanut butter to make sure to add the 3 T. of flour to it the same as you would if adding the caramel. Very good cookie--if pretty rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States