Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by KJones
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very good...would like them to be a little less crumbly though. Had a hard time getting the crust to stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Soooooooooo rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made these last night and refrigerated the pan until about 2 hours ago, just cut into them and they are AMAZING!!! I followed Ruby's advice to double the recipe for a 9 x 13 pan...mother of God these are addictive and I'm not sure they'll make it to the potluck they are intended for (my husband keeps looking at me all doe-eyed wanting more). The ONLY change I made was to use slivered almonds in place of the walnuts cuz I'm not a big fan of the walnut. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I made these two days ago(as I MADE my husband save some of them to test the theory of them being better the 2nd day), they are! I did not have 9in pan, so I used my 8x8. I ended up baking the bottom crust probably 15 mins instead of 10, but that's b/c it was thicker. I ran out of butter, so I had to use just a small dash of oil to make it up. With such a small amount, it made no difference. I did the 3/4c chocolate chips. And 1c the caramel topping. Others said that they couldn't really taste the caramel, and besides 3/4c took the jar almost completely away anyhow. Baked for about 30 mins. My husband cut into them about an hour later, and they were a pretty gooey mess, but had GREAT flavor. They sat overnight, and man, are these bars rich and delicious. But note that if you don't like rich things..you won't like this! I would cut back on the chocolate chips for my personal taste, keep the caramel where it's at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I always double this recipe.. it is fabuluous! I always double the chips and nuts... you can use pecans and they are great. You really need to make these and let them cool, put them in the fridge for a while, and then cut. I have much better luck with cutting this way. Also, it is a lot of butter. Just do it. If you cut back they will be to crumbly. Once they cool and set up they are GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
My family loved these!!! They were gone in 1 day! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mochalova5

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Phantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA_LUSHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These were very very good. I only doubled the crust/topping ingredients and added a whole jar of caramel ice cream topping while eyeing the chocolate. These came out more like a chewy cookie on the bottom/middle, mainly due to the caramel topping. I think I did add too much chocolate which took away from the caramel flavor. The top was a little disappointing because it was WAY too crumbly, but I'm sure that could be changed easily by incorpating the butter more. Overall, these were really chewy and chocolate-y, two things you can't go wrong with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These were great. Be sure to use the jarred caramel and not the squeeze bottle syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States