Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by KJones
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very good...would like them to be a little less crumbly though. Had a hard time getting the crust to stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Soooooooooo rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made these last night and refrigerated the pan until about 2 hours ago, just cut into them and they are AMAZING!!! I followed Ruby's advice to double the recipe for a 9 x 13 pan...mother of God these are addictive and I'm not sure they'll make it to the potluck they are intended for (my husband keeps looking at me all doe-eyed wanting more). The ONLY change I made was to use slivered almonds in place of the walnuts cuz I'm not a big fan of the walnut. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I made these two days ago(as I MADE my husband save some of them to test the theory of them being better the 2nd day), they are! I did not have 9in pan, so I used my 8x8. I ended up baking the bottom crust probably 15 mins instead of 10, but that's b/c it was thicker. I ran out of butter, so I had to use just a small dash of oil to make it up. With such a small amount, it made no difference. I did the 3/4c chocolate chips. And 1c the caramel topping. Others said that they couldn't really taste the caramel, and besides 3/4c took the jar almost completely away anyhow. Baked for about 30 mins. My husband cut into them about an hour later, and they were a pretty gooey mess, but had GREAT flavor. They sat overnight, and man, are these bars rich and delicious. But note that if you don't like rich things..you won't like this! I would cut back on the chocolate chips for my personal taste, keep the caramel where it's at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I always double this recipe.. it is fabuluous! I always double the chips and nuts... you can use pecans and they are great. You really need to make these and let them cool, put them in the fridge for a while, and then cut. I have much better luck with cutting this way. Also, it is a lot of butter. Just do it. If you cut back they will be to crumbly. Once they cool and set up they are GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
My family loved these!!! They were gone in 1 day! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mochalova5

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Phantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA_LUSHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These were very very good. I only doubled the crust/topping ingredients and added a whole jar of caramel ice cream topping while eyeing the chocolate. These came out more like a chewy cookie on the bottom/middle, mainly due to the caramel topping. I think I did add too much chocolate which took away from the caramel flavor. The top was a little disappointing because it was WAY too crumbly, but I'm sure that could be changed easily by incorpating the butter more. Overall, these were really chewy and chocolate-y, two things you can't go wrong with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These were great. Be sure to use the jarred caramel and not the squeeze bottle syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States