Oatmeal Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
In my continuing search for an oatmeal cake "better than grandma made" I found this one. Rather than messing with broiling the topping, just combine the topping ingredients and spoon it randomly on top of the uncooked cake batter. Bake at 325 for 40-50 minutes. Delicious and no chance of broiling accidents and topping cleanup messes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
i accidently overbaked these because i left my oven at 400 but knew i had to get them out as soon as i smelled the flavor. i made exactly 22 cupcakes with these (pour water over the 2 empty slots) and even though i overbaked them, they were fantastically moist. i will be making again! this time i'll remember to bake them at 350 for 25-30 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I've tried dozens of oatmeal cake and bar recipes, trying to duplicate the one I loved as a kid. I'm done, this is it! I have printed a copy of the recipe to keep in my purse because so many people ask for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEWELJETT
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used regular milk instead of evaporated but otherwise made the recipe as written. I was a bit worried that the batter was too thick to 'pour' into the pan but it was better once the softened oats were added. This is Delicious... both warm with ice cream or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELJETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
Excellent!!! Great with coffee and vanilla ice cream. The topping is soooooooo good. Impressed the in-laws with this. Everyone liked this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
My whole family liked this cake. The flavor reminds me of fall. The Brulee topping added the perfect sweet, nutty crunch. I always follow the recipe AS WRITTEN the first time I make it so I can accurately rate the recipe. I will definitely make again with a slight cut back in white sugar. I'd like to play around with whole wheat flour, apples, raisins & spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Don't change a thing!! Being from the south, I had never even heard of this cake before! A friend from the midwest requested it, and it was a huge hit!! Definitely suggest sticking with the broiling - it caramelized everything perfectly! Thanks for the recipe. Made this again! The recipe is still the best!! Was thinking about trying it as a breakfast cake next time. Maybe add a little more oatmeal and a little less brown sugar/butter to the topping. Would make a good coffee cake??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Very good.. have been making this for over a year and hubby loves it. Try a diced up apple in it for a little twist to it. Its GREAT both ways!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was one of the greatest cakes I've ever tasted. I made it for a party a.d everyone went nuts over this. You couldn't possibly be disappointed. And I didn't make any changes. (drives me NUTS when people say, oh this was five stars, but I changed every other ingredient????....this gives us nothing, people!?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Wow, this turned out good. It took a lot longer to bake than the recipe said (mine took about 50 minutes), but maybe that was because I didn't do the glaze on top with the broiler. I also forgot to add the cinnamon, and maybe that would've added a bit more zing to the flavor, but I still thought the recipe was great. Just what I needed, having very little ingredients in the house as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn R

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Altamont, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States