Oatmeal Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
If I could give this recipe 20 stars I would! It is absolutely amazing! It's moist and the glaze is perfect! So easy to make. I broiled mine on high for the full 3 minutes and it came out great. If you haven't tried this recipe, it is a must...A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Wonderful. My husband really liked these. All I had on hand at the time were steel cut oats and they are not instant. However, I still followed the directions in the recipe, save a couple more minutes of soaking in the hot water. They still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Don't change a thing!! Being from the south, I had never even heard of this cake before! A friend from the midwest requested it, and it was a huge hit!! Definitely suggest sticking with the broiling - it caramelized everything perfectly! Thanks for the recipe. Made this again! The recipe is still the best!! Was thinking about trying it as a breakfast cake next time. Maybe add a little more oatmeal and a little less brown sugar/butter to the topping. Would make a good coffee cake??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Made this for the Oaxaca (Mexico) women's Christmas brunch and turned out great in spite of some obligatory adjustments: I used pure cane sugar vs. brown sugar and substituted chopped fiber bars (nut flavored) for the nuts called for. I'm still being asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILKAHAD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is wonderful and moist! The second time I made it, I used pecans instead of walnuts. We enjoyed it even more! As a side note, it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montoursville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This cake is so yummy!! The cake is very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
i accidently overbaked these because i left my oven at 400 but knew i had to get them out as soon as i smelled the flavor. i made exactly 22 cupcakes with these (pour water over the 2 empty slots) and even though i overbaked them, they were fantastically moist. i will be making again! this time i'll remember to bake them at 350 for 25-30 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Very good.. have been making this for over a year and hubby loves it. Try a diced up apple in it for a little twist to it. Its GREAT both ways!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I have used this recipe for years...don't like the topping though but it's great plain. I like to reduce the sugar to 3/4 c. each and add a banana on occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
something different than plain old white or chocolate cake and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States