Oatmeal Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
This was very good, I will make again. Very moist. I made cupcakes(muffins) instead, it made 19 at 3/4 full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
I made this for my family of six. Most of us loved it, but my teenage son thought it was kind of sweet. He still ate it all. LOL My only comment would be that I used a 9 X 13 pan and that was plenty big. The cake was less than an inch tall using that pan. I've never seen a 13 X 15 pan, but I can't imagine it would have given me a very thick cake if I had used one. We'll definitely be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Very hearty cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Great recipe - easy to prepare (made it into muffins). However, I adjusted it somewhat - added a 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Yummy in the Tummy! I made this for my son's preschool snack. I left out the raisins and dusted in with powdered sugar. it is a good thing I had to send most of it to school or I would have ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Great cake. I used chocolate chips instead of rasins. I also increased the cinnamon, and I added some nutmeg aslo. I iced this with Chocolate Sour Cream Icing. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I made this cake following the recipe exactly with one exception: I baked it in a 9x13" glass pan. We did not top it with cream - just the powdered sugar. It was wonderfully moist and delicious! My husband and children all enjoyed it. Thank you for a great recipe! I might try this with a crumble topping next time. I might also try it as muffins, but I think it would be too moist for paper muffin cups - I'd try it straight in the muffin tin. However I make it again, I will be sure to watch it carefully. It was moist this time, but it seems like the kind of recipe that could get dry quickly if you bake it too long. This is definitely a recipe to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Yummy. :) Definitely very moist. But spread very thin.. and I somehow managed to not put in enough sugar. =/ It was extremely easy though; I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Yuuuum!! This was so good. Very moist and delicious. I only made two changes: I put it in an 8x8 pan because it looked like it wouldn't be enough for a 9x13 and i was probably right, it was perfect for an 8x8. I also didn't put in any raisins because no one in my family likes them. I will definitely make this again. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This recipe was OK. It was kind of dry and plain. I doubt I'll make it again, but it was an experiment and worth the try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jabaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States