Oatmeal Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was really good, although I did make some minor modifications. As suggested by other reviewers, I baked it in an 8x8 pan so it would not be so thin. I also added a little extra cinammon, used Splenda instead of sugar, and replaced the raisins with chocolate chips and chopped pecans. I will definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This is an excellent basic recipe using oatmeal. I made it into muffins. I think it would be more interesting if it contained fresh berries instead of raisins. Adding a little wheat germ or flax seed would make it healthier and the sugar could be reduced or substituted. Overall, it made a great breakfast cake/muffin and could benefit from individual variations on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzweex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Just forgot to mention that i only had white sugar on hand. Also for a doubled recipe i only used 2 cups of white sugar in total. This cake is even better this morning. I may just eat the whole thing myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This is a nice, healthy alternative to the usual brownies and breakfast cakes and quite good. I don't think I let it cook long enough and next time will leave it in for a few more minutes, but I do think you have to be careful with this drying out, so I'll keep a watchful eye. I took it to the office for breakfast and by the end of the day it was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I followed the recipe except added 1 C. of raisins. Made it into 12 muffins and had just a little batter left over (not even enough to make 1 more). Baked at suggested temp. for about 20 minutes. The muffins are moist and the taste is wonderful! Will be making these again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This recipe was OK. It was kind of dry and plain. I doubt I'll make it again, but it was an experiment and worth the try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jabaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Yuuuum!! This was so good. Very moist and delicious. I only made two changes: I put it in an 8x8 pan because it looked like it wouldn't be enough for a 9x13 and i was probably right, it was perfect for an 8x8. I also didn't put in any raisins because no one in my family likes them. I will definitely make this again. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Yummy. :) Definitely very moist. But spread very thin.. and I somehow managed to not put in enough sugar. =/ It was extremely easy though; I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I made this cake following the recipe exactly with one exception: I baked it in a 9x13" glass pan. We did not top it with cream - just the powdered sugar. It was wonderfully moist and delicious! My husband and children all enjoyed it. Thank you for a great recipe! I might try this with a crumble topping next time. I might also try it as muffins, but I think it would be too moist for paper muffin cups - I'd try it straight in the muffin tin. However I make it again, I will be sure to watch it carefully. It was moist this time, but it seems like the kind of recipe that could get dry quickly if you bake it too long. This is definitely a recipe to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Great cake. I used chocolate chips instead of rasins. I also increased the cinnamon, and I added some nutmeg aslo. I iced this with Chocolate Sour Cream Icing. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States