Oatmeal Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
To die for! I added two chopped granny smith apples and made a streusel topping. I baked it in a 9 x 13 and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
moist, tasty, great solid recipe. I added pecans and a crumble, too, yet would have also enjoyed it on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Five year old Sam says "I think this is the goodest thing I've ever had." I also used a 9X13 pan, chopped apples instead of raisins and 1/2 wheat flour, then added a 1/2 t. baking powder, and a struessel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Will definitely keep this in my arsenal - everyone liked it and was asked for recipe. I followed some advise by adding a crumb topping, substituted cranberries for raisins, and added a small granny smith apple (peeled and diced). Used 8x8 pan which made a VERY thick cake and which took about 40 minutes to cook. Still moist. Did not give it 5 stars only because this is a solid dish but not a WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
really tasty, heavy cake..I've only made the cake part though, no icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrnTheEmpireDown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Very good, but I felt it needed some sort of topping. Next time, I made a crumb topping as follows: 2 packages instant oatmeal (apples &cinnamon), 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 c flour, 1/4 tsp cinammon, 1/4 c butter (melted). Mix all together and crumble over top of cake batter before baking. YUM! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I also used 1 tbsp of cinnamon and in place of raisins, I used some fresh honey crisp apple, and a streusle topping. The 11 year old said , "I LOVE IT" The 10 yro said, It is good, I like it" The 13 yro...hes not out of bed, more for the rest of us! Will make again. I used in a bundt pan, and I was impressed with how pretty it looked. We didnt serve any topping with it..great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WriteasRain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newell, Iowa, USA
Living In: Storm Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Very good. I used whole wheat flour (added an extra half tsp of soda) and added choc chips. I also took another reviewers advice and put on a crumb topping. I used an 8 by 8 pan, but baking time was more like 35 min rather than 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This was quite good. I didn't have quick cooking oats - used old fashioned instead. I also made a crumb topping. It was all excellent. Kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Wow!! This was super easy and delicious. I baked it in a round pan (a 9x13 would have been too big, i think) and had a bit extra left over for a few muffins. I ommitted the raisins and added a crumb topping (1/4 cup flour, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 TB butter). Definitely will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States