Oatmeal Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
My husband raved and said he could eat it every day. I thought they were just okay. They tasted a bit "wet". Like oatmeal mashed into a cake. I would prefer something closer to an oatmeal cookie or oatmeal biscuit. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I rarely make a recipe "as is" - and this one was no acception. I had to add a little nutmeg, probably 1/2 teaspoon, since it reminded me of my oatmeal cookie recipe (which of course has nutmeg). I'm also a major raisin fan, so took others' advice & doubled to 1 cup - I also plumped them w/some boiling water first. opted for an 8x8 cake (for home) + 9 cupcakes for the office folks. everyone raved. thank you for a good one, I'll be making it again, but will add a little more oatmeal next time - just not enough "presense" for my taste. mmm - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very good and easy, but half the sugar that's called for is plenty, unless you wanted something very dessert-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Makes a very good coffee/breakfast cake! I omitted the raisins, and only used half of the sugar (1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar) and it turned out great. I also added some wheat germ to the dry ingredients. I will definitely make this again for our freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was fabulous ! I used a 9x13 pan and increased the ingredients for 32 servings and it raised all the way to the top of the pan. I served it to a group of 16 and it was gone !!! No leftovers for me to bring back home. Everyone commented how moist and flavorful it was and several want the recipe. I did not add the raisins since I did not have any but I don't think it would have made that big of a difference. This cake is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Add more raisins and some nuts. A 9 x 13 baking pan is about the right size, otherwise it's too flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is delicious! I highly recommend it! So moist and only slightly sweet, not overwhelming. Great breakfast goodie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
YUM! My whole family loved this. My kids each ate two pieces for an after-school snack, and would've had more if I let them. I used instant oatmeal instead of quick oats (because I needed a way to use it up), and topped it with a streusel topping. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This was pretty good. Not amazing, but good! I made the recipe into 15 muffins and put an oatmeal/brown sugar crumble on top. I baked them for 20 minutes at 350 and they were just right--moist inside, a little crunchy on top--yum! I made a few small changes, such as added 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 cups of each sugar, and 1.5 teasp. of the baking soda. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This cake was so good. I made the following adjustments after reading the other reviews. I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup of each. I added some pecans on top, cuz that is what we have plenty of in South Georgia right now. I put my batter in a 28x18 cm pan. Smaller than the 9x13 and the cake came out nice and moist and thick. Will make again and again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States