Oatmeal Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
My husband raved and said he could eat it every day. I thought they were just okay. They tasted a bit "wet". Like oatmeal mashed into a cake. I would prefer something closer to an oatmeal cookie or oatmeal biscuit. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I rarely make a recipe "as is" - and this one was no acception. I had to add a little nutmeg, probably 1/2 teaspoon, since it reminded me of my oatmeal cookie recipe (which of course has nutmeg). I'm also a major raisin fan, so took others' advice & doubled to 1 cup - I also plumped them w/some boiling water first. opted for an 8x8 cake (for home) + 9 cupcakes for the office folks. everyone raved. thank you for a good one, I'll be making it again, but will add a little more oatmeal next time - just not enough "presense" for my taste. mmm - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very good and easy, but half the sugar that's called for is plenty, unless you wanted something very dessert-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Makes a very good coffee/breakfast cake! I omitted the raisins, and only used half of the sugar (1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar) and it turned out great. I also added some wheat germ to the dry ingredients. I will definitely make this again for our freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was fabulous ! I used a 9x13 pan and increased the ingredients for 32 servings and it raised all the way to the top of the pan. I served it to a group of 16 and it was gone !!! No leftovers for me to bring back home. Everyone commented how moist and flavorful it was and several want the recipe. I did not add the raisins since I did not have any but I don't think it would have made that big of a difference. This cake is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Add more raisins and some nuts. A 9 x 13 baking pan is about the right size, otherwise it's too flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is delicious! I highly recommend it! So moist and only slightly sweet, not overwhelming. Great breakfast goodie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
YUM! My whole family loved this. My kids each ate two pieces for an after-school snack, and would've had more if I let them. I used instant oatmeal instead of quick oats (because I needed a way to use it up), and topped it with a streusel topping. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This was pretty good. Not amazing, but good! I made the recipe into 15 muffins and put an oatmeal/brown sugar crumble on top. I baked them for 20 minutes at 350 and they were just right--moist inside, a little crunchy on top--yum! I made a few small changes, such as added 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 cups of each sugar, and 1.5 teasp. of the baking soda. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This cake was so good. I made the following adjustments after reading the other reviews. I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup of each. I added some pecans on top, cuz that is what we have plenty of in South Georgia right now. I put my batter in a 28x18 cm pan. Smaller than the 9x13 and the cake came out nice and moist and thick. Will make again and again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States