Oatmeal Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Have been eating this since I was a kid! LOVE this bread!!! I cook at 300 degrees for 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This cake was good: sweet and hearty. Nonetheless, i can't give it any more than three stars since my idea of an oatmeal cake is more.. oatmealy! I will definitely try it out again and add a bunch more of oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbfelix90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I thought this cake had a nice flavor.I made it just as written but I baked it in a 9x5 loaf pan because I was wanting to make more of an oatmeal bread out of it.The middle didn't get done but that's ok because I actually like mine gooey in the middle.My mom tried it and she liked it too.It's not one I would make very often but it was fun to try it since I do love oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
quick and easy to make! not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
First off, I was never an oatmeal lover. However, since I had oatmeal in abundance, I decided to try this cake. What a pleasant pleasant surprise! The cake was moist and delicious, and it was really easy! I love it! And I will definitely be using oatmeal more in my cakes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldisaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
easy, moist, soft, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I didn't have a small enough pan, used a loaf pan to bake, this increased the cooking time to an hour to finish baking. I halved the recipe, used only Brown Sugar, and may have used porrage oats accidentally. So I guess I kind of screwed the recipe up with that....But it's a decent cake, have some milk with it. Despite my inability to know what kind of oats I used, I'd have to say it's worth 5 stars just because it managed to pull itself together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I also used dried cranberries and substituted water for fresh orange juice. I added the peel from the orange and it was fresh and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made a few changes to see if I could make do with less sugar: instead of white sugar I used 1/3 c. honey. I increased the brown sugar to 1 and 1/3 cup, and used 2 tsp. cinnamon (not one) and instead of butter I used 3/4 c. applesauce. It was moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My family loves this cake with these small changes. Instead of butter, I use applesauce. I also cut back on the sugar and omitted the raisins. A little more vanilla, 2 tsp of cinnamon, a little more oatmeal, and a lot of love. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States