Oatmeal Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I made this cake twice. The first time I followed the recipe, but found it a little too sweet for our liking. The second time I decreased the sugar by 1/2 cup and didn't make the toping. This cake didn't stay around very long in our house either time! It's a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I make an oatmeal cake very similiar to this (dont have recipe in front of me to check measurements of ingredients to see how exact) But in my recipe that I have it doesnt have coconut I use chopped pecans. It was shared to me from a friend that got it from a old old magazine. (She uses pecans as well dont know if she ever used coconut) It is one of the best cakes I have ever had. Cant go wrong with brown sugar and pecans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riana Kamala Deal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I didn't change a thing except for cutting the recipe in half (used an 8" square pan) and increasing the topping amount a little (I'm glad I did because it was a bit tricky spreading it over the top of the warm cake before broiling). I thought this was more like gooey bars/squares rather than cake but we are enjoying them just the same. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I decided to make this wonderful cake and let me tell you it was wonderful very moist whole family just loved it The only thing that I did different was doubled the topping!! This will be a recipe I make all the time thanks for sharing it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Welch, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by agape56
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made cake this morning for my wife's coworkers. I sampled it and the cake was delicious. Only changes I made was skipping the cream in the topping and reducing the nutmeg. (Didn't have cream so I substituted half and half and sweetened condensed milk.) I don't like nutmeg because of its overpowering effect so I only used a small pinch. I also added chopped pecans to the topping. I don't believe those changes really cause the base recipe to be greatly altered. Next time I bake this cake I think i will include some crushed nuts and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
The cake was much to sweet for my taste, and I like sweets. Next time I will cut the two sugars back to 2/3 cup each. I'll report back how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I think the cake needs to cool before you put the icing on it so it doesn't just run. So perhaps that should be added in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Added a few chocolate chips and pecan to cake batter and pecans to icing. It is to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This is a very old recipe and very good. It was served at my wedding shower 48 years ago! Love the broiled coconut topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Very yummy and the topping seeps into the cake and makes it very moist. It's a little too sweet so I may cut down on the sugar in the cake just a little next time, but, otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States