Oatmeal Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I didn't change a thing except for cutting the recipe in half (used an 8" square pan) and increasing the topping amount a little (I'm glad I did because it was a bit tricky spreading it over the top of the warm cake before broiling). I thought this was more like gooey bars/squares rather than cake but we are enjoying them just the same. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I decided to make this wonderful cake and let me tell you it was wonderful very moist whole family just loved it The only thing that I did different was doubled the topping!! This will be a recipe I make all the time thanks for sharing it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Welch, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by agape56
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made cake this morning for my wife's coworkers. I sampled it and the cake was delicious. Only changes I made was skipping the cream in the topping and reducing the nutmeg. (Didn't have cream so I substituted half and half and sweetened condensed milk.) I don't like nutmeg because of its overpowering effect so I only used a small pinch. I also added chopped pecans to the topping. I don't believe those changes really cause the base recipe to be greatly altered. Next time I bake this cake I think i will include some crushed nuts and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
The cake was much to sweet for my taste, and I like sweets. Next time I will cut the two sugars back to 2/3 cup each. I'll report back how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I think the cake needs to cool before you put the icing on it so it doesn't just run. So perhaps that should be added in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Added a few chocolate chips and pecan to cake batter and pecans to icing. It is to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This is a very old recipe and very good. It was served at my wedding shower 48 years ago! Love the broiled coconut topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Very yummy and the topping seeps into the cake and makes it very moist. It's a little too sweet so I may cut down on the sugar in the cake just a little next time, but, otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because my husband said it was too sweet. Everyone else loved it. Instead of 1 1/2 cups of boiling water, I warmed up 1 cup of buttermilk and 1/2 cup of spiced rum. I added extra cinnamon. As suggested by other cooks, I also doubled the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lehnig-Bouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Delicious and moist. I loved the broiled toppings, but that with the cake was a little too sweet for my taste. Next time I'll add a little less sugar to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States