Oatmeal Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This is a GREAT recipe. One of my professors made it for a meeting, and I insisted she give me the recipe. I just made a lower-fat version last night, I reduced the butter in the cake to 2 Tbsp and added 1/3 cup of applesauce, and reduced the butter in the topping to 2 Tbsp and used 1/3 cup of skim milk instead of the cream. Comes out almost as perfect as the original cake, and less guilt! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Next time maybe double the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
This is the same receipe as the Kentucky Oatmeal Soice Cake which is a specialty at Atlanta's famed Horseradish Grill. The cake is more spectacular served with the restaurant's homemade caramel ice cream. At home serve it with Dulce con leche (vanilla ice cream with caramel swirls) available at your grocer. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This is a delicious, dense, rich cake that is very tasty, everyone loved the cake. It doesn't rise much at all, at least mine didn't, and I thought I did something wrong but it wasn't even an issue once everyone tasted it. As one reviewer mentioned it only needs about 1 and half minutes under the broil, that was very useful to know, I kept a watchful eye on it and it was perfect, I didn't serve it warm because I always make my cakes a day ahead of time, I find the cakes taste better and it's one less thing to prepare the day of the dinner party. I did use less nutmeg then the recipe (half) called for that was the only other change I made. Thank you for this recipe, I love oatmeal so this will become a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This cake is to DIE for!! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of the small adjustments needed for high altitude baking, and my husband was eating it before it was even cool. Positively yummy - don't let the lack of rising or the finished looks scare you off; your friends and family will beg for more! Thanks for an incredible cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Pauline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
My husband always raved about the Oatmeal cake he grew up with, so I had to make it. Decided to try this recipe and it has been a hit with the entire family. The only thing I change is that I make twice the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Sun City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My family has been making a version of this cake since I was a kid. For the topping, we add pecans, and use sweetened condensed milk instead of cream & white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I absolutely love it. My family loved it, and I am definitely going to make it again for my boyfriend. My family doesn't like coconut so I didn't put any in. I also put in less butter and milk instead of cream (only because I didn't have cream). A good suggestion would be to poke holes in the cake before pouring the icing stuff on. It makes it soak through the whole cake. Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
My husband loves oatmeal, so I thought I would try this recipe for his birthday. I myself, am not a sweet eater, but I have to say, this is probably the best cake I have ever eaten. Very moist and the melding of the oatmeal and cocconut is outstanding. I have already passed on this recipe and I plan to make it again soon--thanks for a great new flavor and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I originally got this recipe from my husband's mother. I've been baking this cake for over 20 years. Everyone who tastes this cake loves it. It has become the favored cake for my family and friends. We all love the rich, dense, moist texture and wonderful flavor. Currently, I've been experimenting with the special brown sugars that you can get from stores like Trader Joe's or cooking shops. They add another layer of flavor that is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States