Oatmeal Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
This is the same receipe as the Kentucky Oatmeal Soice Cake which is a specialty at Atlanta's famed Horseradish Grill. The cake is more spectacular served with the restaurant's homemade caramel ice cream. At home serve it with Dulce con leche (vanilla ice cream with caramel swirls) available at your grocer. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I originally got this recipe from my husband's mother. I've been baking this cake for over 20 years. Everyone who tastes this cake loves it. It has become the favored cake for my family and friends. We all love the rich, dense, moist texture and wonderful flavor. Currently, I've been experimenting with the special brown sugars that you can get from stores like Trader Joe's or cooking shops. They add another layer of flavor that is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
This cake is delicious and stays moist for days. Took leftovers to work and everyone loved this cake and wanted the recipe. I impressed the in-laws with this and they even took some home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This is a great receipe! It keeps well and is easy to make. I sent it to my college kids in the mail and they loved it. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Amazing, amazing, AMAZING! This recipe is so simple and easy to prepare. I made it for Thanksgiving as an alternate for pumpkin pie and it was a hit. Definitely will make again and again. Thanks so much, Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
My husband loves oatmeal, so I thought I would try this recipe for his birthday. I myself, am not a sweet eater, but I have to say, this is probably the best cake I have ever eaten. Very moist and the melding of the oatmeal and cocconut is outstanding. I have already passed on this recipe and I plan to make it again soon--thanks for a great new flavor and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Wow! A blast from the past. I wasn't sure when I read the recipe if this was the one I was looking for, but it is. My mother used to make this recipe, but since Mom was always around, no one bothered to write it down. Well, moms unfotunately can't stay with us forever and this recipe was all but forgotten over the past few years, however you most certainly have given us back a wonderful memory. As a surprise I baked this for a family get together and it tasted like home. A wonderful, wonderful moist and delicious cake which actually gets better the next day. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
WOW!!! I couldn't believe how moist and tasty this cake turned out. Easy to make too! I took a sample taste right after I took it out of the oven and it melted in my mouth. The only thing I would change is to reduce the amount of sugar and butter in the frosting as it was a little sweet for my taste. Other then that, this cake definitely deserves a 5 star rating. Thanks Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
MMMMmmm. I once had a recipe for oatmeal cake with broiled coconut topping, one that I had torn out of a magazine. It was the first cake that I ever baked from scratch, back when I was about nine years old. I loved the cake, it was one of my favorites ever. However, I lost the recipe, and have been looking for it ever since. I saw this, and thought that it sounded right. It was! I have my favorite cake back! Thank you, Shirly Millar! BTW, I was out of coconut when I made this, so I used walnuts instead and turned it into broiled nut topping. Just as good as coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Absolutely delicious!!!! Not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States