Oatmeal Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Everybody loves this......I use a spice cake mix instead of yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This is a GREAT recipe. One of my professors made it for a meeting, and I insisted she give me the recipe. I just made a lower-fat version last night, I reduced the butter in the cake to 2 Tbsp and added 1/3 cup of applesauce, and reduced the butter in the topping to 2 Tbsp and used 1/3 cup of skim milk instead of the cream. Comes out almost as perfect as the original cake, and less guilt! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I absolutely love it. My family loved it, and I am definitely going to make it again for my boyfriend. My family doesn't like coconut so I didn't put any in. I also put in less butter and milk instead of cream (only because I didn't have cream). A good suggestion would be to poke holes in the cake before pouring the icing stuff on. It makes it soak through the whole cake. Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This is an absolutely wonderful cake, it's easy to do, very forgiving and has a lovely light and moist texture. I didn't do the frosting as I needed something more portable for work, but will definitely try it another time. I want to make this cake again and add some finely diced dates and finely chopped pecans to the mix. I can also see grated apples and sultanas in it's future. This is a sure-fire winner in my book with endless possibilities. It would make a great after-school snack for kids of all ages. Delicious & healthier than most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
My husband always raved about the Oatmeal cake he grew up with, so I had to make it. Decided to try this recipe and it has been a hit with the entire family. The only thing I change is that I make twice the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Sun City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This is a great oatmeal cake... The only thing I will change next time is I will not broil it more than 1 1/2 minutes because I broiled it for 4 minutes and the topping burnt and made the whole cake hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This is super moist, super good if you like cocoanut topping--I also add chopped walnuts to the topping and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This cake is addictive. I think it is essential that you use butter in order to get the best flavor. I have served it as a coffee cake or as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Absolutely delicious!!!! Not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
MMMMmmm. I once had a recipe for oatmeal cake with broiled coconut topping, one that I had torn out of a magazine. It was the first cake that I ever baked from scratch, back when I was about nine years old. I loved the cake, it was one of my favorites ever. However, I lost the recipe, and have been looking for it ever since. I saw this, and thought that it sounded right. It was! I have my favorite cake back! Thank you, Shirly Millar! BTW, I was out of coconut when I made this, so I used walnuts instead and turned it into broiled nut topping. Just as good as coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States