Oatmeal Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This cake was just delicious. Unfortunately, my broiler isn't working so I wasn't able to broil it at the end of the baking time, but it still came out great. I decreased the nutmeg to 1/2 teaspoon because I don't like a strong taste. A new fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Everybody loves this......I use a spice cake mix instead of yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This is a GREAT recipe. One of my professors made it for a meeting, and I insisted she give me the recipe. I just made a lower-fat version last night, I reduced the butter in the cake to 2 Tbsp and added 1/3 cup of applesauce, and reduced the butter in the topping to 2 Tbsp and used 1/3 cup of skim milk instead of the cream. Comes out almost as perfect as the original cake, and less guilt! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I absolutely love it. My family loved it, and I am definitely going to make it again for my boyfriend. My family doesn't like coconut so I didn't put any in. I also put in less butter and milk instead of cream (only because I didn't have cream). A good suggestion would be to poke holes in the cake before pouring the icing stuff on. It makes it soak through the whole cake. Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This is an absolutely wonderful cake, it's easy to do, very forgiving and has a lovely light and moist texture. I didn't do the frosting as I needed something more portable for work, but will definitely try it another time. I want to make this cake again and add some finely diced dates and finely chopped pecans to the mix. I can also see grated apples and sultanas in it's future. This is a sure-fire winner in my book with endless possibilities. It would make a great after-school snack for kids of all ages. Delicious & healthier than most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
My husband always raved about the Oatmeal cake he grew up with, so I had to make it. Decided to try this recipe and it has been a hit with the entire family. The only thing I change is that I make twice the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Sun City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This is a great oatmeal cake... The only thing I will change next time is I will not broil it more than 1 1/2 minutes because I broiled it for 4 minutes and the topping burnt and made the whole cake hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This is super moist, super good if you like cocoanut topping--I also add chopped walnuts to the topping and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This cake is addictive. I think it is essential that you use butter in order to get the best flavor. I have served it as a coffee cake or as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Absolutely delicious!!!! Not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States