Oatmeal Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Cake was moist but way too sweet. Also the topping was way way to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I decided to try this recipe after reading the reviews. I must say that I agree with the excellent reviews. I had not baked for a while, however the recipe was very easy to follow and the result was wonderful. I received many great comments from my guests and I also enjoyed a slice myself. It was unbelievably moist. Thank you for such a geat recipe! I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Great recipe, easy to make and everyone loved it...Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Who would have ever thought that oatmeal could make such a delicious cake! I doubled it for two cakes and used coconut oil instead of butter for the cake part of the recipe but I used butter for the broiled icing. Oh, yeah...by mistake I used more brown sugar and less white sugar in the cake batter but it was still outstanding! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is a delicious, moist cake! We all loved it. The topping is wonderful. I would encourage everyone to make it. Next time I'll use a smaller baking pan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I made this cake for our after-church coffee and have never before heard so many raves among the men and women there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is an unbelievable dessert! So moist and the topping is just to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This cake is to DIE for!! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of the small adjustments needed for high altitude baking, and my husband was eating it before it was even cool. Positively yummy - don't let the lack of rising or the finished looks scare you off; your friends and family will beg for more! Thanks for an incredible cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Pauline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Ok...WOW!!! I made this to take for my son's class and I was afraid looking at it, that it wouldn't be kid friendly. They completely devoured it!! This is so delicious!! It looks ok...but the taste is outstanding!!!!! I am not a huge fan of coconut but you can't skip that step. It becomes this amazing crunchy coconut topping.....YUMMY!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyBennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This cake was pretty good. A little too sweet though. I didn't use the recomended topping, because it would have made it that much sweeter. I ended up doing a bitter sweet chocolate ganache glaze, and then sprinkled it with coconut. The flavors went very well together. The spices in the cake were nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States