Oatmeal Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Great recipe, easy to make and everyone loved it...Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Who would have ever thought that oatmeal could make such a delicious cake! I doubled it for two cakes and used coconut oil instead of butter for the cake part of the recipe but I used butter for the broiled icing. Oh, yeah...by mistake I used more brown sugar and less white sugar in the cake batter but it was still outstanding! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is a delicious, moist cake! We all loved it. The topping is wonderful. I would encourage everyone to make it. Next time I'll use a smaller baking pan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I made this cake for our after-church coffee and have never before heard so many raves among the men and women there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is an unbelievable dessert! So moist and the topping is just to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This cake is to DIE for!! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of the small adjustments needed for high altitude baking, and my husband was eating it before it was even cool. Positively yummy - don't let the lack of rising or the finished looks scare you off; your friends and family will beg for more! Thanks for an incredible cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Pauline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Ok...WOW!!! I made this to take for my son's class and I was afraid looking at it, that it wouldn't be kid friendly. They completely devoured it!! This is so delicious!! It looks ok...but the taste is outstanding!!!!! I am not a huge fan of coconut but you can't skip that step. It becomes this amazing crunchy coconut topping.....YUMMY!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyBennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This cake was pretty good. A little too sweet though. I didn't use the recomended topping, because it would have made it that much sweeter. I ended up doing a bitter sweet chocolate ganache glaze, and then sprinkled it with coconut. The flavors went very well together. The spices in the cake were nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This is a delicious, dense, rich cake that is very tasty, everyone loved the cake. It doesn't rise much at all, at least mine didn't, and I thought I did something wrong but it wasn't even an issue once everyone tasted it. As one reviewer mentioned it only needs about 1 and half minutes under the broil, that was very useful to know, I kept a watchful eye on it and it was perfect, I didn't serve it warm because I always make my cakes a day ahead of time, I find the cakes taste better and it's one less thing to prepare the day of the dinner party. I did use less nutmeg then the recipe (half) called for that was the only other change I made. Thank you for this recipe, I love oatmeal so this will become a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This cake was just delicious. Unfortunately, my broiler isn't working so I wasn't able to broil it at the end of the baking time, but it still came out great. I decreased the nutmeg to 1/2 teaspoon because I don't like a strong taste. A new fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States