Oatmeal Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This definitely gets five stars without a doubt. I used 1 3/4 cups boiling water and substituted milk for cream because I didn't have any cream. My whole family loved it (although my husband thought it was too sweet) and they all want me to make it at least once a week from now on. Also, I just turned up the oven temp to 450 after the topping was spooned on and left it in there for several minutes. after the coconut mixture/frosting started browning it was perfect. I didn't mess with the broiler. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This made for a really ugly birthday cake. The cake does not rise at all. It looks more like a browinie. It is a nice moist cake but I was dissappointed in the appearance. It has a good spice flavor but I doubled the cinnamon and cut the nutmeg in half. More like a snack cake. I can't imagine cooking the topping for more than an minute or two. I pulled mine out at 1 1/2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Quite Yummy! I forgot to add the salt, but it came out just fine. I made two 9" round cakes using a double recipe iced them both. I put the bottom layer under the broiler for a shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Based on the comments in the reviews I made the following changes: white sugar in cake reduced from 1 cup to 2/3 cup, nutmeg reduced from 1t to 2/3t, white sugar in frosting reduced from 1/2 cup to 1/4 cup, cream increased from 1/4 cup to 1/4 cup plus 1T. I broiled the cake for 2 minutes and it seemed enough. Cake was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Excellent! If you are looking for a moist, heavy, homemade cake, look no more, you have found it!! Yummmmmmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Oh my goodness...this cake is absolutely wonderful. I doubled the icing, and am glad I did, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I have never had oatmeal cake and didn't really know what to expect but I can't say enough about it!!! When baking, make sure to test with a toothpick because my cake did not look done but it was. I am glad that I checked, otherwise it would have been overbaked. I will be making this again to take to a family visit this weekend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Next time maybe double the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was exellent using nearly double the topping. Charlie suggested adding raisins - Paul suggested soft nuts in topping - the guys wanted even MORE topping. If I use the dark pan, decrease baking time radically
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Franz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Cake was moist but way too sweet. Also the topping was way way to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I decided to try this recipe after reading the reviews. I must say that I agree with the excellent reviews. I had not baked for a while, however the recipe was very easy to follow and the result was wonderful. I received many great comments from my guests and I also enjoyed a slice myself. It was unbelievably moist. Thank you for such a geat recipe! I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States