Oatmeal Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Delicious cake! Super sweet though. Definitely cut down on the white sugar by half in the cake and a bit in the topping as well. Used half-and-half instead of cream for the topping too. Was a little sceptic of the topping as i was putting it on the cake, but it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I love oatmeal cake and this one is a winner. Very moist with the right blend of spices. The coconut topping completes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This cake is ok. I used chocolate frosting instead of the topping since I was out of coconut. The texture is nice and moist and you'd never know there is oatmeal in it, but I didn't care much for the flavor. Next time I'll add more spices to make it more like a spice cake and try the coconut topping which sounds great. The kids liked it but they never say no to cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
My husband and I both LOVED this cake. It is very sweet, so I could see how some might think there was too much sugar, but we like it as is :) I might double the topping next time too. This is definitely a keeper though! UPDATE: I have made this cake for several parties and it is always a hit. People that don't even like coconut, love this cake. I have found that 1.5 times the original batch of topping is a good amount (if you double it, it seems to be either soggy or if you leave it under the broiler long enough to get all the coating crispy, it tastes burnt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Wow! What a fabulous, moist, well spiced, simple cake. I didn't change a thing and wouldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
A very moist cake! I have made numerous oatmeal cakes but never where I have soaked the oats ahead of time. I think it is the pre-soaked oats that make it so moist. I did cut the sugars by 1/8 to 1/4. There is a lot of sugar in this recipe and I figured a little missing here, and a little missing there would not hurt it, and it didn't. I also cut the nutmeg by about 1/4 teaspoon. I don't like the over powering flavor of nutmeg. This will be one of my regulars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Yummy, moist cake! I would call it "Spice Cake", because I couldn't even taste the oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARJENNINGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
All i can say is that I was nervous at first because that was my first time baking anything from scratch. But to my surprise and delight it turned out great! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mableton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Immensely delicious! Made this for dessert over the holidays and it was a hit. Extremely moist with a unique flavor. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Very good cake. But I cut down on the sugar as others said, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States