Oatmeal Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
We had an oatmeal cake that we bought from the Athens Ohio farmers market. It was the first time we had an oatmeal cake. I took half home to michigan and my sister took half home to virginia. We both loved it, so found this recipe and when I was in virginia for thanksgiving, this was a cake we made pre-holiday. It was a hit with everyone, even the kids liked it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My family has been making a version of this cake since I was a kid. For the topping, we add pecans, and use sweetened condensed milk instead of cream & white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this when my dad said that his mom used to make it when he was little, and it has become a family favorite. I prefer to use skim milk instead of cream in the topping, because it soaks into the cake and makes it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was a good moist spice cake, I would consider using this as a carrot cake base, but I would either cut in half or take out the spices next time for a regular oatmeal cake like my Mom has made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aycfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I make this in a LOAF pan...adjust baking time accordingly. No additional topping is required for a loaf size- delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Keeper for sure. I added ginger instead of nutmeg to the batter. I then added nutmeg and a dash of cinnamon to the topping while mixing. Even better! Took advise from another review and served with caramel ice cream. FABULOUS is all I can say and we are usually chocolate lovers. I would choose this cake over any chocolate. I did double the topping. After tasting I would consider tripling it is that good. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
The out come surprised me! It was great even though I didn't add cinnamon or nutmeg people said it was full of flavor and they loved it. I'm making it again today(w/cinnamon..) but will had a little lemon/orange zest and maybe a squeeze or two of the juice. Didn't bother making the topping. XXOO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I've made this cake now many times and I love it! I make a few slight changes to suit me. First, for the cake itself I use only 1 cup brown sugar and leave out the other cup of sugar completely. It's still plenty sweet for me, especially when adding the topping. As for the topping, I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled it. It really makes the cake. I've made it using coconut as it states, which is very good, but one day I was making it and didn't have any on hand. I did however have chopped pecans, and that really took this cake to the next level! I highly recommend trying it that way! I find this cake keeps very well too. After being in the fridge overnight the topping soaks into the cake just a bit, which is just lovely :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This cake is awsum! I added a 3/4 cups raisens and a tsp of vanilla to the cake. I also added and a cup of toasted coarsley chopped peacans to the topping. I used quick cook oatmeal and boiled the oats for one minute. I added cold unsalted butter next then the sugars and spices then the dry. Very yummy cake! Disapears fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
LOVE IT! I can't stop eating it. I was looking for a spice cake recipe...this will be my spice cake from now on. For the icing, I used sour cream b/c that's what I had. It turned out tangy and not too sweet. I will make it that way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States