Oatmeal Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this when my dad said that his mom used to make it when he was little, and it has become a family favorite. I prefer to use skim milk instead of cream in the topping, because it soaks into the cake and makes it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was a good moist spice cake, I would consider using this as a carrot cake base, but I would either cut in half or take out the spices next time for a regular oatmeal cake like my Mom has made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aycfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I make this in a LOAF pan...adjust baking time accordingly. No additional topping is required for a loaf size- delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Keeper for sure. I added ginger instead of nutmeg to the batter. I then added nutmeg and a dash of cinnamon to the topping while mixing. Even better! Took advise from another review and served with caramel ice cream. FABULOUS is all I can say and we are usually chocolate lovers. I would choose this cake over any chocolate. I did double the topping. After tasting I would consider tripling it is that good. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
The out come surprised me! It was great even though I didn't add cinnamon or nutmeg people said it was full of flavor and they loved it. I'm making it again today(w/cinnamon..) but will had a little lemon/orange zest and maybe a squeeze or two of the juice. Didn't bother making the topping. XXOO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I've made this cake now many times and I love it! I make a few slight changes to suit me. First, for the cake itself I use only 1 cup brown sugar and leave out the other cup of sugar completely. It's still plenty sweet for me, especially when adding the topping. As for the topping, I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled it. It really makes the cake. I've made it using coconut as it states, which is very good, but one day I was making it and didn't have any on hand. I did however have chopped pecans, and that really took this cake to the next level! I highly recommend trying it that way! I find this cake keeps very well too. After being in the fridge overnight the topping soaks into the cake just a bit, which is just lovely :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This cake is awsum! I added a 3/4 cups raisens and a tsp of vanilla to the cake. I also added and a cup of toasted coarsley chopped peacans to the topping. I used quick cook oatmeal and boiled the oats for one minute. I added cold unsalted butter next then the sugars and spices then the dry. Very yummy cake! Disapears fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
LOVE IT! I can't stop eating it. I was looking for a spice cake recipe...this will be my spice cake from now on. For the icing, I used sour cream b/c that's what I had. It turned out tangy and not too sweet. I will make it that way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Delicious cake! Super sweet though. Definitely cut down on the white sugar by half in the cake and a bit in the topping as well. Used half-and-half instead of cream for the topping too. Was a little sceptic of the topping as i was putting it on the cake, but it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I love oatmeal cake and this one is a winner. Very moist with the right blend of spices. The coconut topping completes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States