Oatmeal Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
The cake was good, but way too sweet for me and my family. I cut down sugar by half (even for topping), but still sweet. So next time maybe I will cut down by 1/3. I doubled the topping and accidentally put almost double the flour (had to bake longer) but it still turned out great. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Delicious! Wonderfully moist and full of flavor! I have learned that it isn't necessary to soak the oatmeal in boiling water and used room temperature water instead (soaked oats for 5 minutes). Added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans to topping. Perfect coffee cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I have made this recipe for YEARS and each time it is a hit. I joke about it being so delicious it could kill you.(Then tell them about the cup of brown and white sugar, plus the whole stick of butter. As well as, what's in the topping) I also say you could leave it out in the sun for a year and it would still be moist.(Because of the butter and cooked oats) This makes a great "breakfast cake" too, as my wife says. Alternately, since my wife does not like coconut, I use the same amount of dry oatmeal. Thanks Shirley, for making me look good for all these years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Dense, moist and delicious! I added a 1/4 tsp ground Cardamon to the cake batter and 1/4 cup chopped Pecans & slivered almonds to the topping, respectively. Tastes just like my moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This cake was so moist and yummy! I added some coconut and chocolate chips to the batter and omitted the egg and just used applesauce. Cooking time was slightly longer but the end product was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
WOW! Delicious! waaaaayy to sweet for me, (but all I had on hand was coarse sugar so it may of been that was sweeter or something). I halved the recipe to try it out, but I'm making it again tomorrow full size with less sugar (might try honey for extra flavour or half mashed banana) and make the topping :)( or maybe even stir in toasted coconut flakes to the batter, it was crying for some coconut!). Only sub I made was that I made it without flour (1/2 cup oat flour, 1/2 + 1 tbsp white rice flour, 2 tbsp almond flour, 1 tbsp flaxseed) ended up with EXACTLY the same texture as using wheat flour, wonderful turn out for my first wheat-free baking experiment :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I've been looking for the recipe my Mom used to use to make this cake and so far this one is pretty close. It is a crumbly, delicious throw back to my childhood. (Kinda weird to think of now, but when I was a child we called this cake "maggot cake" because the broiled coconut looked like those little critters when it's broiling and the coconut writhes around in the heat. Maybe not the most appealing way to describe or name this cake for most people, but it reminds me of being in the kitchen with her) I doubled the glaze.... which was a bit much. I'll know better next time. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lone Grove, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
We had an oatmeal cake that we bought from the Athens Ohio farmers market. It was the first time we had an oatmeal cake. I took half home to michigan and my sister took half home to virginia. We both loved it, so found this recipe and when I was in virginia for thanksgiving, this was a cake we made pre-holiday. It was a hit with everyone, even the kids liked it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My family has been making a version of this cake since I was a kid. For the topping, we add pecans, and use sweetened condensed milk instead of cream & white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States