Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
These cookies are very good. I did take the advice of a few reviewers regarding the baking temperature,time,amount of sugar,butter, and flour. I also put them in the fridge for a while. I would say about 30 minutes as someone suggested. My cookies came out just right not too flat not too thick. The only ones that flattened a bit were the ones that had less dough and had more butterscotch morsels in it. This happended with my last batch. I highly recommend using 1/2 a cup of each of the sugars,because the butterscotch morsels will add the rest. Add the full cup of butter and 1 1/2 cup of flour. Bake for no more than 8 minutes and always do a test cookie according to the baking sheet you have. Darker sheets tend to brown them faster than the lighter colored ones. I also have a rule of letting the sheets cool off completely before putting more cookies on the same sheet. The principle is simple: a warm cookie sheet will start the melting of the butter much faster and therefore your cookie has a higher chance of spreading and burning. Please do refrigerate the dough before baking it this will also contribute to decrease the spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Turned out delicious with a few modifications: increased to 1 cup butter to make them very moist, and reduced the white and brown sugar so they were not overly hurt your teeth sweet. I set the oven to 350 and baked for 8 minutes so they came out very soft and not dry. I was disappointed that the butterscotch chips didn't melt, next time I would probably pre-melt these for a more unified butterscotch flavour throughout. I also had extra butterscotch chips left over and made a cookie glaze for an extra punch of flavour! -CW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
These are terrible cookies. Much better recipes out there than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX_Brad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
The family loved these! I did have to adjust the bake time by a couple minutes but that's OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I used Pam cooking spray and they stuck. Wax paper and they stuck. Oil and flour and they stuck :(. They also came out like an old cookie that spent too much time in the sun. As much as I bake I think the problem is somewhere in the wet ingredients (most likely butter/margarine choice). I gave two stars because the crisps I made were edible, but the kids were not interested due to looks. May add more butter to the rest that I didn't even bother to cook tomorrow, but tonight just feeling disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Whorton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren Dawn
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Used whole wheat flour instead of white flour (it was all I had in the kitchen!). They still turned out perfectly. Would recommend using some parchment paper if you go this route, or a greased cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I reduced the temp to 350, they cooked in 10 min. I did not add more butter as previous commentators recommended. I added both butterscotch and chocolate chips. The cookies came out nice. The recipe worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
These were the best cookies I've ever made. They had the perfect texture and butterscotch-y taste I was looking for when I bought my butterscotch chips. They definitely don't make 4 dozen, though. I used rounded teaspoons and ended up with around 8 dozen cookies total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wertgirlfor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I would suggest doubling or tripling this recipe. Every time I make them they go SOOOO fast. This is my family's FAVORITE cookie recipe! We make them at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany L. Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanee2ian
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I used butter flavoured Cisco instead of butter and I use a bit more cinnamon and butterscotch my husband those these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States