Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Perfect cookies--exactly what I was looking for. These were SOOOO good! Even my anti-oatmeal and anti-butterscotch teens were gobbling them up! :) I had to adjust the measurements since I only had 1 cup of butterscotch chips, but they still turned out plump, soft and chewy. I took other reviewers recommendations and lowered the temperature to 350 degrees & chilled the dough for 10-15 minutes for the butter to firm back up a bit. My cookies were perfect at 350 degrees for 9 minutes, although all ovens vary--watch them closely and don't let them get too golden or they'll over bake. As soon as the edges are golden and the tops are set, pull them out and let them cool. I also used parchment paper and had no issues at all with sticking. If you love oatmeal and butterscotch, this recipe will tickle your sweet tooth for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUBSCRAPS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: North Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I'm not a cookie lover, however my girlfriend is. This is her favorite. After removing them from the oven and allowing them to cool a bit.. I gave her one.. all I could hear was her moaning and remarking about how good they were. She did say that this recipe was a bit on the sweet side compared to others. On my next batch I think I will use a bit less sugar. Based on her reaction I'm giving this 5 stars! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This is the Nestle recipe except they now call for 1c. of butter. I always use the full cups (and I love butter) and get soft chewy, delicious cookies. I usually only bake half the batch and eat the dough right out of the refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I LOVE THESE COOKIES! I followed the recipe but took Naples suggestions to up the butter to 1 cup and to let the dough slightly harden. Plus I lowered the temp to 350 cooked for about 10-13 min. Depending on how large my cookies were. I had perfect fluffy moist delicious cookies in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I increased the butter to 1 cup, used my big cookie scoop and cooked them 12 minutes at 350 degrees. Perfect big, chewy, crispy edged, cookies. I had no trouble removing them from the parchment paper after allowing them to cool for about 10 minutes. Very good! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I made this using 9 T margarine and 3 T shortening. Also, 1 c chips was plenty. These alterations made nice slightly rounded cookies that did not spread like crazy. Because I altered it I gave it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I should have read more of the reviews before making. I followed the recipe as is and got very thin cookies that I had to almost overbake in order to remove them from the baking sheet. Taste ok but very disappointed overall. Next time I would add more butter and flour as suggested, but I don't think they'll be a next time for this recipe. Surely I can find one that works well without having to read several additional reviews to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Everyone loved it and it was so much easy to make in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Super yummy! Followed suggestion of 1c butter and 350 for oven temp. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States