Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe tonight and it was GREAT! I had two variations from the recipe: I used 1 cup of butter and 3 cups of quick oats. I baked them for 9 minutes. I had one cookie sheet that is a darker metal and they need less baking time on that sheet. Dough held together well and as of right now, I've eaten too many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La_ura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
These were pretty good cookies, basicly a oatmeal cookie recipe with butterscotch chips. The cookies were not a chewy as i would have liked i will decrease the cook time by a minute or two next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mackeroney
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Easy to make, I agree with the 1/2 cup of butter versus the 3/4th's as I don't like crispy cookies. I added caramel bits to compliment the butterscotch & WOW that was a good decision!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Made some last night- they we're ok. I have a sweet tooth, and these are, dare I say it, too sweet. A bit on the greasy side for my taste too. I may have made them too large too cook properly- mine are about 2x the size shown in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I made these cookies just as the recipe said, and they turned out terrible. The dough tasted really good, but the cookies were so flat the pan was showing through and the cookies were so stuck to the pan I was literally prying them off. I was very disappointed with this. I will not be making these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Great taste, cookies will be FLAT, not thick, no matter what. Significant flour vs oats ratio needed. Also, took 8 minutes to cook for me, no idea why. Not making ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Wonderful! These were a huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
These cookies are fantastic. I baked them for 10 minutes at 350 and they came out chewy and perfect, that was the only change I made to the recipe. I found them very sweet though, and the recipe made more cookies than I expected. Worth making for sure, and I would definitely make again over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is a solid oatmeal cookie recipe. I followed the recipe as written and agree with other reviews that one cup of butter is better but may be a bit much unless you adore rich and buttery. I suspect some of the other issues in the reviews may be due to technique, not the recipe. With any mix, such as cookies, brownies or bars, over mixing causes a flat hard product. After creaming the butter, eggs, sugars and vanilla, mix the remaining dry ingredients by hand or very carefully with a mixer. You do not want to mix the flour completely in and should clearly still see flour in the mix. With a recipe where you are adding oats, nuts, or chips at the end...mix the flour even less. I cheat and use my mixer...I just pop it on and off, scrap the sides of the bowl (yeah, that's important) and do it again til the flour is just barely mixed in. For those getting a lacy cookie...did you use quick oats or the full "old fashioned" oats? I would suggest the old fashioned type oats that have all the fiber or add more flour for the quick oats. I baked at 375 for 9 mins and got a cookie that was brown on the edge and just barely cooked in the middle. Shiny not doughy. Bake for 11 minutes for a crunchy cookie. I hope this helps out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Great Recipe. I also added more butter and because of the comments on the sweetness reduced the butterscotch chips slightly and reduced the heat to 350. I chilled for 10 minutes before baking and sprayed cooking sheet. These tips made the cookies turn out perfect. Plan on sending a batch to my son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States