Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cooking for DaJo
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My 9 year old absolutely loves this recepie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking for DaJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
The flavor was good! Didn't turn out! Batter wasn't thick like a cookie batter should be and baking time was almost double and would still fall apart after baking. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
These cookies were fantastic! The whole family loved them. I'm sure I will make these again and again. I followed the recipe exactly, except I reduced the sugars. I used 1/2 cup each white and brown sugars as opposed to the 3/4 cup each the recipe called for. That made 1/2 cup less dry ingredients in the recipe which may have been why I did not experience the dry cookie that some of the other reviewers reported. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
my 8 yr old daughter's fav cookie. we make it every year for her class for holiday treats. use a tablespoon to scoop into cookies- as they do spread & rise a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made these for the first time for Thanksgiving. It was so easy to make these cookies. By Thanksgiving day, more than have of the cookies were gone. The only thing I omitted was the cinnamon, which I do not prefer. They came out prefect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
These cookies are very good. I did take the advice of a few reviewers regarding the baking temperature,time,amount of sugar,butter, and flour. I also put them in the fridge for a while. I would say about 30 minutes as someone suggested. My cookies came out just right not too flat not too thick. The only ones that flattened a bit were the ones that had less dough and had more butterscotch morsels in it. This happended with my last batch. I highly recommend using 1/2 a cup of each of the sugars,because the butterscotch morsels will add the rest. Add the full cup of butter and 1 1/2 cup of flour. Bake for no more than 8 minutes and always do a test cookie according to the baking sheet you have. Darker sheets tend to brown them faster than the lighter colored ones. I also have a rule of letting the sheets cool off completely before putting more cookies on the same sheet. The principle is simple: a warm cookie sheet will start the melting of the butter much faster and therefore your cookie has a higher chance of spreading and burning. Please do refrigerate the dough before baking it this will also contribute to decrease the spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Turned out delicious with a few modifications: increased to 1 cup butter to make them very moist, and reduced the white and brown sugar so they were not overly hurt your teeth sweet. I set the oven to 350 and baked for 8 minutes so they came out very soft and not dry. I was disappointed that the butterscotch chips didn't melt, next time I would probably pre-melt these for a more unified butterscotch flavour throughout. I also had extra butterscotch chips left over and made a cookie glaze for an extra punch of flavour! -CW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX_Brad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
The family loved these! I did have to adjust the bake time by a couple minutes but that's OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I used Pam cooking spray and they stuck. Wax paper and they stuck. Oil and flour and they stuck :(. They also came out like an old cookie that spent too much time in the sun. As much as I bake I think the problem is somewhere in the wet ingredients (most likely butter/margarine choice). I gave two stars because the crisps I made were edible, but the kids were not interested due to looks. May add more butter to the rest that I didn't even bother to cook tomorrow, but tonight just feeling disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Whorton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States