Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Mmmmmmmmm !!!!! I used the recipe to a "T" the first time. Excellent ! The 2nd time I added 3/4 cup of oats instead of 1/2 cup, a little more honey and 2 tablespoons of EVOO. I've nailed it !! This is now my "go to" recipe. I'm thinking of adding flax and sunflower seed. That's the fun of it, Experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
i made this today, it was fine until i noticed it sank in the final 45 minutes. WHAT HAPPENED? will eat tomorrow and try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was ok! Certainly not the best bread I have had..seemed a little too bland for me. If I make it again, will have to add more honey to it, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Although this has become my go to bread recipe, it is not quite perfect yet, and I am still experimenting to try to get it to be exactly like I want it. Here's what I know: if you use oil/marg/butter you'll not even notice the difference, so just use your preference. Usually I use 1/2 WW flour which turns out well. Per other reviews, I plan to add flaxseed, other seeds, and raisins with cinnamon in future attempts. Until the last loaf, I have been baking it in my bread machine, but this time I baked it in the oven and liked the result much better (i.e. no hole in the middle of the loaf). I baked it at 325 for about 35 minutes and it turned out nicely. On the yeast issue, I haven't experienced a problem of too much yeast, but I use bread machine yeast (2t) which requires less than active dry yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
First off, don't take my 3-star review literally; 5-star reviews, in my opinion, are saved for food that makes itself and tastes perfect every time. That being said, the recipe worked out great, but I changed a few things to compensate for my hatred of bread machines. After proofing the yeast in 1/2 cup warm water, I added 1/2 milk and 2 tbsp butter. I also put the oatmeal in the food processor to grind it to a flour consistency. Let it rise for 45 minutes in a greased, covered bowl, then punch down, form into a roll and let it rise again. Bake at 350 for 25-35 minutes. Take it and a tub of butter to a good hiding place and try not to eat it all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Richardson
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I have one of the old "The Bread Machine" 's This recipe is the best yet. I love the texture. I plan to try using this recipe and adding raisins and cinnamon. But just as it is, Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Txevey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Yes, this bread is outrageously delicious! Just one small adjustment use 2 1/4 teaspoons of yeast rather than the 1 tablespoon called for in the recipe. The dough still rose beautifully and no overly yeasty taste. Thanks, Liz. Fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I've made this twice now and it has over risen both times. The first time, I made it as written. The second time, I reduced the yeast to 2 1/4 t. and it was still too much. The flavor and texture is good, but I am still trying to find the right amount of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
DELICIOUS! My husband loves this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraR
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I made this in my KA as my bread machine isn't working. It's a tasty bread but I didn't a very big loaf.. I thought it would be bigger considering 3 c of flour and 1/2 c of oats. Perhaps it was a problem with the second rise. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States