Oatmeal Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is GREAT!!! I do believe I've found our all-the-time bread. I didn't notice people's idea of using part honey but it was still great with all that molasses. Will use half or maybe even all honey from now on (mostly because it's cheaper). I used all whole wheat flour (and added at least a cup more flour than the recipe said) and it still turned out light, fluffy and wonderful. My husband will love sandwiches made with this bread--he likes softer bread. For me, this recipe made one large loaf and 5 large rolls that I baked together in a second loaf pan. I promptly polished off 2 of the rolls with butter for breakfast. Baked the bread for about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
It baked in 25 minutes, good taste and smooth texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Really yummy, but there was no cooking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Made this in early December 2008, froze a loaf, and I am eating it right now. It still tastes as good as when freshly baked. I toast it and have it with butter. So comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This bread is really tasty and very moist, but I think that you have to reduce the molasses to 1/4 c and add a 1/4 cup of honey, even at that, there is a slight molasses flavor. I let the bread rise in a giant Tupperware bowl in the fridge for 6 hours, and it pushed the lid up, so make sure you give it a lot of room to grow. I started it in the a.m. and had fresh bread for dinner. I made two large loaves of bread, and my daughter just loved the cheese sandwiches I made with it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Terrific! I, too, used 1/2 honey instead of all molasses. Even with 1/2 honey it was still dark and had good molasses taste. Great texture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Delicious bread, and this recipe is very adaptable! I like true whole-grain bread, so I only used one cup of white flour. Other than that I used a mixture of wheat flour, the oats, rye flour, and flaxseed meal. I also went 50/50 on molasses and honey. The result is a nice tender crumb, great for toast, and the overnight directions make this very easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
It's getting harder and harder to find bread recipes that don't require a bread machine. This recipe is great. I too used honey & molasses. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I scaled this recipe down so I would only make 1 loaf, also I didn't rise it overnight in the fridge, I just rose it regular. Also, I used all honey because I didn't have any molasses. It turned out tasty, but for some reason my breads are almost always flat. I'll get it someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I've made this recipe twice, the first time I followed instructions and it was really good, but after a few tweaks it was GREAT! I used half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat, and I used 3/4 cup rolled oats and 1/2 cup of steel cut oats for more texture. I also used slightly less molassas and substituted honey instead. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States