Oatmeal Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I've made this recipe twice, the first time I followed instructions and it was really good, but after a few tweaks it was GREAT! I used half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat, and I used 3/4 cup rolled oats and 1/2 cup of steel cut oats for more texture. I also used slightly less molassas and substituted honey instead. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Great bread! Very smooth texture. I was very worried that it would be dense, but despite appearances, it was light and fluffy. Rose very well. It only took 3 hours to rise and then I had to take it out of the fridge because it was getting too big. I would advise letting it rise on a cookie sheet... there is no way it would have been contained in a bowl. Wonderful flavor. Quick oats worked as well as any. NOTE: The author does not recommend cooking time... this was done for me in 35 minutes. VERY HAPPY WITH THIS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
This bread was wonderful. Making it and letting it sit overnight was great. It was quick to put together in the morning. You need a very large bowl to have it sit over night. It really rises and needs lots of room. It is really a delicious bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
The best oatmeal bread I have made! Based on an earlier review I was leary about the amount of molases so I went 50/50 molases and honey. To my taste the result was perfect. I made it into two very large sandwich bread loaves. The result a very soft, light, well textured sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Delicious bread, and this recipe is very adaptable! I like true whole-grain bread, so I only used one cup of white flour. Other than that I used a mixture of wheat flour, the oats, rye flour, and flaxseed meal. I also went 50/50 on molasses and honey. The result is a nice tender crumb, great for toast, and the overnight directions make this very easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
It baked in 25 minutes, good taste and smooth texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
I got 3 9x5 loaves and one mini loaf. The bread is light and fluffy and tastes really good. This would make a good sandwich bread. It's pretty easy to make too; you just have to plan ahead a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is GREAT!!! I do believe I've found our all-the-time bread. I didn't notice people's idea of using part honey but it was still great with all that molasses. Will use half or maybe even all honey from now on (mostly because it's cheaper). I used all whole wheat flour (and added at least a cup more flour than the recipe said) and it still turned out light, fluffy and wonderful. My husband will love sandwiches made with this bread--he likes softer bread. For me, this recipe made one large loaf and 5 large rolls that I baked together in a second loaf pan. I promptly polished off 2 of the rolls with butter for breakfast. Baked the bread for about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This bread is really tasty and very moist, but I think that you have to reduce the molasses to 1/4 c and add a 1/4 cup of honey, even at that, there is a slight molasses flavor. I let the bread rise in a giant Tupperware bowl in the fridge for 6 hours, and it pushed the lid up, so make sure you give it a lot of room to grow. I started it in the a.m. and had fresh bread for dinner. I made two large loaves of bread, and my daughter just loved the cheese sandwiches I made with it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This bread was really good. The slow-rising in the refrigerator didn't work so well, so I took the bread dough out and it rose beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States