Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Yum. Five stars for simplicity and healthiness. The muffins are hearty. I didn't use quick cooking oats, I used rolled oats, and I used hazelnut oil instead of vegetable oil. The only danger is leaving the muffins in too long (I left them in probably two minutes too long and so they were slightly brown). But yummy nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat H

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made these muffins exactly as given (no substitues or additions) and was very pleased with the results - moist, not overly sweet, nice texture with the oatmeal. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Loooove these muffins, I've made them so many times and they're always fantastic. I substituted the all-purpose flour for whole wheat flour, and I cut the sugar to 1/8 cup, because with the blueberries I don't think it's necessary. The result is a hearty breakfast muffin, so delicious and warm in the morning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very tasty! Love the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Could these be any more easy? I did some slight modifications that others suggested - added tsp of vanilla and some generous shakes of cinnamon. I also substituted about 1/4 cup flax meal for some of the oats/flour, for some extra nutrition. My 4 and 6 year olds love these and do I! I made mini-muffins, cooked them for about 14-16 minutes at slightly less heat, about 415 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Simply Scrumptious. I added A touch of vanilla and a mix of other berries for added flavour, lowered the oven temp. and cooked them for longer (30-40mins)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
simple and easy to make. I didn't have milk so I just used water and they still turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
These were moist and not too sweet- just the way I like them. Just be aware that the batter is a little more runny than usual muffin batter because the oatmeal doesn't soak up the liquids like flour does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Like Lynn, I altered this recipe to make it healthier. But instead of swapping apple sauce for oil, I omitted the oil and swapped 1/2 cup of the flour for 1/2 cup of finely ground flaxseeds (rich in omega 3 oil, fiber, and lignans, a chemical compound that helps build the immune system and has antioxidant and anticancer effects) I used only whole wheat flour and 2 cups berries. I baked them for 15 minutes, and these came out great! Moist, rich without being heavy, excellent texture and flavor. Coming right out of the oven they are keen to fall apart, but after they cool they keep together well. Some people are put off by the idea of flaxseeds, but if you (and your kids) already like the somewhat nutty flavor of oatmeal, you (and your kids!) will probably like the light nutty flavor of flax! Each muffin works out to having about 800mg of Omega-3, which is 80% of the 1 gram minimum RDA experts are leaning towards :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I make these all the time. My family & Co-workers love them. They are best warm. I also use frozed blueberrys in the winter. I like to srpinke some oats on top of each muffin. Then you know what you are about to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Vicker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States