Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I noted some of the other reviews comments and came up with these edits to make them really healthy. My family loves them. Edit recipe using: 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup reg flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 heaping cup of applesauce instead of oil, 2 cups of frozen small blueberries OR 1 cup of large blueberries, lower the oven temp to 425 for 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
432 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Kluttig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mackenzie, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I made the recipe with 2 cups blueberries like the other reviewer did. I made my muffins in the evening for breakfast the next morning. A nice quick simple recipe with healthy ingredients. Out of the oven the muffin I tasted was eager to fall apart. However, I placed them in the refrigerator over night and then heated in the microwave the next morning and had a perfectly firm moist muffin. I was a little hesitant to put in the 1 TBSP of baking powder but was very pleased to find no taste of it in the end. And we all loved them. Keeping this recipe because it has great taste and nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
These muffins are awesome!I actually substituted some of the all-purpose flour with whole-wheat folur (about 1/3 cup) to make it more textured and nutritious.Yummy!Didn't last more then 1 hour in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Fantastic! These muffins are hot out of the oven and i have a third batch in right now. The house smells incredible! I like this recipe alot because of the high propotion of heart-healthy/good carb oatmeal and the low amount of oil (as opposed to magerine). I made some modifications - i added some shakes of cinnamon and some vanilla extract. I substituted orange juice for the milk (i wanted to keep them non-dairy and i did not have soy-milk on hand). I increased the sugar to 1/2 cup (i might not do that next time...) and i added a stuesel topping - a mixture of oats, flour, brown sugar, cinnamon and earth's balance light margerine (i was pretty surprised the light margerine held the struesel together and kept it crunchy!) i baked it at 400 for about 20-22 minutes. I like the batter of this muffin recipe - i see myself using it to also make strwberry muffins, apple muffins, or just plain coffee cake muffins (no fruit inside - and alot of brown-sugar struesel topping! Spectacular. UPDATE: I substituted chopped apples for the blueberries - and they came out great!!! I tossed the apples with some lemon juice and a bit of sugar and cinnamon. I topped each muffin with a cinnamon-oatmeal struesal made from a mixture of oats, flour, brown sugar, cinnamon and some low fat margerine. I baked my first batch at 400 -but the struesel started to get too dark quickly, so I baked my second batch at 350 - and increased the baking time by 5 minutes. They came out great and they freeze really
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Awesome! For our tastebuds, these are just the right sweetness (not cloying). Nice hearty texture, too. An excellent way to get cholesterol-busting oats into our diet. I've made several batches of this recipe with slight tweaks -- dried fruit in lieu of fresh blueberries, soy instead of dairy milk, egg replacer instead of egg -- always with great results. Try adding lots of cinnamon (I add about a tbsp.) to the batter, and sprinkle the tops with a few extra rolled oats and a bit of turbinado raw sugar before baking! As others have mentioned, it seems 20-25 minutes at 400°F works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I liked these a lot, and the reason may be the same reason some other reviewers did not - I wanted a MUFFIN, not a little cake masquerading as one (although there is certainly a place for that too). That's just what these are. These are good and oaty, and just sweet enough. Like a comforting bowl of oatmeal topped with a little sugar and fresh blueberries. Other than adding 1/2 tsp. of vanilla I followed the recipe with no changes. What I found confusing is that with a tablespoon of baking powder and the high heat, that these didn't rise or dome quite as I had expected. Maybe there was too MUCH baking powder! No matter, this little muffin is just so pleasant I couldn't bring myself to docking it a star for that. Nice, homey, old-fashioned MUFFIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I substituted Splenda for the sugar for a diabetic version. They were absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
I've made these a couple of times. I really like them, but others have said they're good but not great. I think they are best straight out of the oven. By the next day, they aren't quite as good. A minute in the toaster oven does wonders, though. I substitute applesauce for the oil for a lite muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
They did fall apart fresh out of the oven but firmed up overnight. However, the flavor is better when warm, kinda dry and "healthy" tasting when cold. Best served with butter/margarine because they aren't very sweet on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
These muffins are tops for flavor,nutrition, lightness and a minimum of sugar. I used wild blueberries and added a small amount of cutup apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States