Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This is a very good base recipe, I was looking for something to use in order to substitute with what I had on hand. I used 1 cup oats and 1/2 cup bran, whole wheat flour, I didn't have enough milk or any oil, so I used 3/4 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup applesauce, and about 4oz of yogurt. I added cinnamon & pumpkin spice. I also had some blueberry/marmalade compote leftover so I used that along with some frozen blueberries. I basically ended up with a new recipe, but will definitely make again. Because of all the changes, my muffins were not "light + fluffy" more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Easy recipe to follow and I like the small amt of sugar and extra nutritional value from the oatmeal. I added a tblsp of lemon juice to the milk and the zest of a whole lemon. Lemon/blueberry such a great combination. Also I let the batter sit for 8 minutes to get the baking powder working. I like a raised muffin and this usually does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
it just tasted very very bland, even added cinnamon and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Loved them! i did substitute the egg for egg whites and the oil for apple sauce but they turned out moist and not too sweet. must keep recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
To die for, or rather, TO LIVE FOR muffins. I followed the recipe, took suggestions and made very few changes: 1)I used 1/3 C white whole wheat flour as part of the white flour measure (I always use King Arthur flours) and sifted it once. 2)Added a generous 1/2-2/3 cups more blues, to make it just under 2 cups that someone else suggested, 3)added about 1 TBSP of flour to them as they sat, 4)filled texas style muffin tins half way & baked closer to a full 20 mins on 350. Also added cinnamon. Last of all, I will add a bit more sugar so you barely notice it. I used fresh picked, frozen blues from Springtime, made them in June & they were fabulous! I just bought frozen ones and will try them. The 1/3 cup of WHITE whole wheat flour is perfect, and not too heavy.I ate 5 of the good sized muffins, of the 8 the recipe made. YUMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was good for a healthy muffin and they stayed fairly fresh for at least a day after making them. I substituted half of the white flour for wheat four, half of the oil for unsweetened applesauce, and half of the sugar for stevia sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Littlefield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This is a great recipe. I did at a bit more sugar and another cup of blueberries. Bad thing is I could eat all of the muffins at one sitting. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I am always grateful for the reviews and the helpful insight/hints. I loved these with quite a few changes - although I don't think they're critical and there are probably lots of other possibilities. I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 regular flour; Vanilla-flavored almond milk which I think did wonders for the fat content and the FLAVOR; increased the berries to about 2 c and used a combination of blackberries, blueberries and strawberries which was tasty and BEAUTIFUL; and based on another review - I added 1/2 t of nutmeg and about 3/4 t of cinnamon. I will definitely make these (or another variation of these!) again. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
love these muffins.. everything except the amount of baking powder. I found that the taste was overpowering so I reduced it to about 2 tspns..perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
The amount of sugar is perfect and I love the fact that it calls for oatmeal. I do agree that the receipe is pretty bland. I've made these twice and the second time I added a tablespoon of cinnamon (this may be too much for some but I love cinnamon!), half teaspoon of nutmeg and a teaspoon of vanilla. MUCH better! No problem with texture or dryness. Both times they came out moist and fluffy. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States