Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
they are a strange texture and don't have much flavor. Most of the reviews have like 20 alterations, but I just followed the recipe. I think they could use a bit more sugar, and I usually think baked goods are too sweet. They are on the small side if you make 12 traditional sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Pretty Good breakfast muffins. It was very quick to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I liked these a lot, and the reason may be the same reason some other reviewers did not - I wanted a MUFFIN, not a little cake masquerading as one (although there is certainly a place for that too). That's just what these are. These are good and oaty, and just sweet enough. Like a comforting bowl of oatmeal topped with a little sugar and fresh blueberries. Other than adding 1/2 tsp. of vanilla I followed the recipe with no changes. What I found confusing is that with a tablespoon of baking powder and the high heat, that these didn't rise or dome quite as I had expected. Maybe there was too MUCH baking powder! No matter, this little muffin is just so pleasant I couldn't bring myself to docking it a star for that. Nice, homey, old-fashioned MUFFIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Great but 1 TABLESPPON of baking powder. That exceed the recommended amount of daily sodium. Not very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I also did 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/2 c wheat flour, 1/2 c all purpose flour, 1/4 c applesauce instead of oil, and slightly more blueberries. very sticky! Edit: followed recipe but subbed applesauce for oil. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I enjoyed these muffins. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added 1/2 tsp vanilla,1/2 tsp cinnamon. I also used 1/2 cup brown sugar,1/4 cup coconut oil, one container of egg beaters- egg substitute (they say thats two eggs) and 11/2 cups blueberries. Delicious, Nutritious and filling breakfast. Will definitely use again. I also imagine it would be delish with banana in place of the blueberry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
These muffins are delicious however I used the recipe as a guide only since I wanted to make them healthier. I managed to get them down to 91 cal. each with practically no fat. The Changes I made are: Subbed 1 cup Whole wheat flour for all purpose Subbed 1/2 cup baking Splenda for sugar Subbed 4 oz Applesauce for Oil Used only egg whites and Skim milk Added Vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zavi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I make these all the time - slicing them in half the following mornings and toasting them. Changes that I made were using white wheat flour, adding 1/4 c. splenda and 1 packet stevia. Don't try using just stevia-- it won't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These were ok. Nothing to really rave about, but not bad either. I added a little cinnamon to the recipe. I think they could use to be a little more sweeter, maybe some brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I just made these and they are yummy, I as well substituted apple sauce instead of the oil for health reasons, and used real sugar. I also made a second batch and substituted apples for the blueberries and they turned out very good as well so I am pretty sure that any fruit will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States