Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These were fantastic! What I thought were frozen blueberries turned out to be frozen blackberries but they still turned out fabulous. I upped the sugar to a half cup and made 1/4 white and 1/4 brown. They baked up well and were the perfect hearty breakfast muffin for winter. Will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heretic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
To add texture and flavor, sprinkle coarse ground sugar and cinnamon to top of muffin before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I really liked these, but I made some changes. I used powdered milk mixed with water to make one cup because we were short on milk. I used applesauce instead of the oil. I think this combination made them more moist so I had to double the flour. I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose flour. I used 1/2 Splenda Brown Sugar blend instead of the white sugar. I added a bit of vanilla and cinnamon like others suggested. I also cut the baking powder down to 2tsp. I baked them for 20mins at 375 and they came out great! They are not your usual bakery type muffins but a more healthy version. My husband and I are both bariatric patients and these are "sweets" that we can actually eat without having a reaction to the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I know when rating a recipe you should make it the way it is , but I didn't and it came out great!! Added 1/2 wheat germ, increased applesauce to 1/2 cup (did not use oil), added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla extract. The BEST healthy muffin EVER!! P.s. Just out of habit, I mixed the wet ingredients first then added dry ingredients, I folded the frozen blueberries in last and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefanie
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Just made these this morning to take to church. Very good! I love the oatmeal in these, and they tasted great even when using Splenda. Not overly sweet. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I kept all of the ingredients the same, but I soaked the oats in the milk while I combined the rest of the ingredients and added them just after the wet ingredients. I find it makes them softer in the muffins. Overall, an excellent recipe - the whole batch disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. They were DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I used a cup of peaches instead of blueberries. I also used splenda instead of sugar and I used half whole wheat and half white flour. I enjoy the wholesome flavor of the muffins. It was a bit too salty so next time I will reduce the salt. Also the edges were slightly to brown for my liking so I will turn down the temperature next time too, Overall they were very tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Great muffins and I love the nutritional fact that they contain oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kywriter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These muffins were fantastic! I changed the recipe to make it healthier by substituting apple sauce for the oil, and using soy milk instead of regular milk. Instead of using 1 c of all purpose flour, I used 1/2 c whole wheat and 1/2 c all purpose. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States