Oatmeal Banana Raisin Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I read the reviews before attempting this and ended up adding just a shade more flour and baking them a little bit hotter and longer (partly because my oven is wonky). They turned out awesome: chewy, but not mushy or crumbly. I'm loving them and I don't even like banana - I was making them for my husband. He ate six in a row and the dog went ape begging for them. Way to trick them into eating healthy food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This is like banana bread in a cookie shape! For my family, it is the perfect blend of crispy and soft. The house smelled SOOOO GOOD while they were baking. Will definitately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I never thought I would ever say 'no' to a cookie, but this one just didn't do it for me. I love oatmeal cookies when they are slightly crispy, but chewy at the same time. These cookies had more of a banana bread texture, with overly chewy oats mixed in. They almost became slightly soggy after spending a day in a storage bag. I liked the flavor/ spice combinations used, but those did not outweigh the texture issue. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I added chocolate chips. They were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Havana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
These are very good! A little sticky, but they do stay moist a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I thought these were awesome! I used 1cup oatbran and 1/2cup wheat and graham flour. Along with swapping the raisins for dried cherries, and baked them on parchment paper. I woyld do this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
These cookies were very soft and crumbly, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Very good taste. Fell apart when taking them off the cookie sheet even after I let them sit and cool a bit. My husband loved them. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Out of all the cookies I have made, these are the only ones my family and friends didn't like at all. My husband ended up taking most of them to work to leave in the lunchroom as he didn't want me to throw them away. I followed the recipe exactly. We did not care for the texture, which my husband said was a cross between a muffin and a cookie, or the flavor. The spices mixed with bananas and coconut just didn't go well together and margarine has a nasty artificial flavor. I would recommend saving the bananas for banana bread and making most any other 5 star oatmeal cookie recipe with 'real' butter. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Delicious recipe! I used 2 very overipe bananas & doubled the spices. We had 5 dozen cookies baked at 350 for about the same amount of time. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States