Oatmeal Banana Raisin Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Good stuff! Chewy/crunchy cookies, not too cake like. I switched the coconut for butterscotch chips. The problem then was there was a bit too much "chunky stuff" in the batter so the cookies did not hold together so well, but it tasted great. 1 cup raisins and 1 cup some sort of chips (instead of coconut) would work well. Not too bananany...no one guessed banana, they guessed oats and raisins though. May make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
These are really good! I quartered my banana slices and thought that it worked really well. I was also surprised that my cookies did not spread. They stayed in little balls. The second batch I flattened with a fork and liked the appearance much better. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
FANTASTIC!! My kids and I love these cookies!! I substituted whole wheat flour, crisco (for margarine--one kid is allergic to milk) and used craisins and dried blueberries instead of raisins. The crisco makes them more crispy and less cake like. This is definitely a keeper!!!!!!!! Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
These cookies are great. I made my own variation of them. Instead of raisins I used Chocolate Chips and I left out the coconut. But they are great. I made them on my stoneware and they were so moist. I still have a few left from over a week ago and they taste and feel like I just took them out of the oven today! Perfect breakfast cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIEPOO

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
very good. Next time I will cut the banana a little smaller, so fit in the cookies better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICGODDESS36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Very good! My husband loved these cookies. The chunks of banana added flavour. I was skeptical about leaving them in chunks as I thought the cookie wouldn't cook right but I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted & cooked great! I might reduce the sugar next time and use applesauce instead of all the margerine. These wont las long in my house! Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAFFELZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Yum! These were amazing! I used 1/2 butter, 1/2 margerine as that is what I had on hand. I also made them with whole wheat flour. Everyone loved them! Didn't taske cakey like most banana cookies do. Highly recommended here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
These cookies had an excellent taste and texture. I would not have guessed that the somewhat unusual combination of ingredients would meld together so beautifully. The texture was very moist and a bit cake-like. I used very ripe, black bananas, and worried about the appearance of the cookies, but it was not an issue. I don't care for the taste of margarine, but used it per the instructions, and the cookies were still delicious. One minor quibble: they were a bit too sweet for my tastes, so I would probably cut back both sugars by about a tablespoon if I were to make them again. And it's nice to know that compared to most other cookies, these pack a nutritious punch due to the oats, banana and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
These cookies are awesome, but the name's wrong. I have a thing for fancy names, and these should be "Triply Incredible Cookies": Incredibly healthy for cookies, incredibly yummy for something healthy (actually, just "incredibly yummy" is enough), and incredibly easy to make. I made them for dessert, and even my teenaged brother loved them - if that's not a compliment I don't know what is. I did make some small changes, though: I soaked the raisins in oranje juice for a couple of hours (they were all dried out, and this way they didn't turn into little black holes), used 1/4 cup honey and 1/4 cup white sugar for the brown, as we didn't have any, skimped on the margarine, and halved the bananas lengthwise then cut pretty thick slices, more like chunks, because I was worried they'd get all mushy (I needn't have been). Our oven's pretty old, so I think the temperature was too low, but they still came out great - best texture I've ever had in cookies. Because of my changes, they came out too moist to store in a cookie tin for any length of time, as I'm afraid they'd get mouldy, but with that great taste, storage is not a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
My grandkids loved this recipe! It's hard to find things that are somewhat healthy that they think is a "treat", and have them eat it! I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAILBAG
Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States