Oatmeal Banana Raisin Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
What a great way to use up those over ripe bananas instead of the typical banana bread! Don't like too many raisins, so backed off the amount to only a 1/2 cup and increased the coconut to 1 1/2-2 cups to offset. Other than that, made as the recipe stated. May have been my oven, but had to decrease to 10 minutes to prevent from burning. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Pretty good cookies. I wanted to use up some old bananas and this did the trick. Anything but banana bread... I added chocolate chips because everything is better with chocolate! I also used cranberries instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
These were yummy. We used butter, we added pecans, and left out the raisins, because I didn't want it to taste like an oatmeal cookie. Stayed soft for days. I would store in a container in layers, not in a bag to prevent breakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Not quite a cake cookie, not quite a hard type cookie. A nice change and full of lots of good stuff! I mashed one of the bananas and sliced up the other. Time is just about right. I went about 12 1/2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
These cookies are oh-so-yummy! Soft, moist and delicious, and the recipe is perfect just as written. They're a bit time-consuming, but well worth the effort. I was impressed by the fact that I was able to let them bake for the full 13 minutes to get them adequately browned, and the bottoms didn't get overly-browned (or blackened) like some cookies do. Plus, I actually came out with 60+ cookies--more than what the recipe says it makes. My family is devouring them quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
OMG These are the best cookies I ever mad.e I made them along with other cookies for Christmas presents and everyone wanted a whole tin of these cookies. I will definitely make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gwynn Oak, Maryland, USA
Living In: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Petersen Hall
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
These are yummers! I'm not a huge fan of banana flavored foods, but I was looking for an alternative to banana bread. I'm very excited to have found this recipe! I made a few changes: I used stick butter because that's what I had on hand; I didn't beat the egg because I was lazy; I used Pampered Chef Cinnamon Plus instead of cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves; I didn't slice my bananas; I used half the suggested raisins and used butterscotch chips for the other half; I used a 7 oz. bag of coconut because that's what I had. My ripe/black bananas had been frozen and they mixed in just fine once thawed. I cooked them on my stone for 13 minutes and they were a nice golden brown. Someone went as far as labeling these "healthy"... With the amount of butter and sugar, I wouldn't call them that! I did, however, double the recipe as someone else suggested and I'm glad I did. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Petersen Hall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was EXACTLY what I was looking for, thank you! Lovely cookies that are crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside! I did make a few modifications when I made mine though: Instead of raisins I used dried cranberries/strawberries and I only used 1/4 c butter and added 1/4 milled flax to add some fiber and grainy flavor. Additionally, I didn't use any cinnamon, cloves or nutmeg and it was still very flavorful, even a bit too sweet. I would only add half the white sugar it calls for next time. Might be because my bananas were so ripe and sweet. They also took a bit longer to cook for me, I'd say about 15 minutes so the center isn't gooey. I took a batch to work and kept one for myself. Everyone loved these! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Loved this recipe. I made it for my Dad, who we call "The Cookie Monster" and he loved them! I doubled the amount of spices, added 1/2 cup of chopped dried apricots, and used mashed bananas as well. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardisty, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
WOW! These are really good! I resisted the urge to add chocolate chips and followed the recipe as was written. My batch yielded 36 perfect 2" cookies. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States