Oatmeal Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Very tasty...not too sweet like many other recipes...the texture is more like bread than cake, if you are looking for something very moist, this is not the recipe for you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I used 1/2 stick of butter, 3 large ripe bananas (maybe 1 1/2 cups?), changed the sugar to dark brown sugar and used half a cup instead, used two cups of whole wheat flower and probably 3/4 cup walnuts. Wow! It seemed rather healthy, and was gone as soon as it was cool enough to cut. Now the neighborhood kids are showing up in droves to help with yard work! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is a great recipe I truely enjoyed I also add flax and use less of the flour. Makes it great with or with out the flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOHNA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I didn't have vanilla extract, and it still turned out okay. I used about 1 and 1/3 cups of smashed banana to counter the 1/2 cup of nuts. Worked out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Horrible, I can see now why so many people change things about the recipe. I made it as is and it was the worst bread I've ever had in my life. It was heavy and bland, there was no flavour whatsoever. I'll never make this again nor will I recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I made with 1 cup of all purpose and 1/2 cup wheat flour. Also replaced some of the sugar with brown sugar.....mmmmm :) I loved the oats added in. I doubled them and skipped the nuts to accomidate my budget. I will definitely make it again! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elle
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very good. Baked it in a glass 9x5 pan at 325 for 70 minutes. Except for using pecans instead of walnuts and changing the baking time & temp, I followed the recipe. Great as a breakfast bread. Might try brown sugar in it next time just to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
My husband said that this is way better than regular banana bread! After I started I realized that I didn't have any plain old oatmeal, so I used flavored instant oatmeal, I picked cinnamon roll flavor. It took longer to bake than the recipe said- about and hour and 5 minutes. I'll definitely make this again and I might even use flavored oatmeal on purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Everyone loved it!!! I added two Tablespoons butter so it would not be dry...after reading other reviews. It also had to cook longer than 55 minutes to get the center 'done'...but it turned out wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is the best bread ever. I tried this recipe for the first time over a year ago and have not made any other since. Do not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States