Oatmeal Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Easy and delicious. Did sub shortening with 1/2 cup applesauce, white sugar with light brown sugar, vanilla with maple extract, 1 cup whole wheat flour + 1/2 cup white flour, and used total 4 medium bananas. Came out perfectly, moist and full of banana flavor. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Best homemade Banana Bread. I did add the topping suggested by another review. This is definately a keeper. I told my husband it taste like "coffee house banana bread". I doubles the recipe and used 5 bananas and made 2 loaves. I've tested so many banana bread recipes and this is the one I will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
wonderful. I used sliced almonds instead of walnuts. This bread was so good I wish I had made more. I used three bananas which was just over the amount asked for... I think lowering the temp and cooking longer worked out thanks for that suggestion! this recipe was so easy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I've made this tonight for breakfast in the morning and I doubled the recipe to make two loaves. I did change the recipe a little to include some of the others suggestions. I added 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar, double the vanilla, oil instead of shortening, and 7 large bananas. I also made a streusel to go on top. It was dense but very good and not to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made this recipe for my sister to take to work & it was absolutely awesome !!!! I changed it up a little ...i added choc. chips ,cinnamon and made it in mini muffin cups !! I will use it again !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is very good moist bread. I like the added fiber from the oats, but they do not change the wonderful flavor. For an even healthier bread, substitute applesauce for 1/2 of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Likens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
the only thing i changed was using butter instead of shortening. it came out very dense and oddly dry and oily at the same time. it was the perfect amount of batter for a large loaf pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This recipe is definitely a keeper for me! Hands down, one of the best loaves I've ever made - and it turned out great the very first try, even with the small adjustments I made. My dad even remarked that it was one of the best, and he's had a tremendous amount of bread-tasting experience over the years as I've tried new banana bread recipes, hoping to find or create the perfect one. I did use 3 bananas that were the equivalent of 1 1/2 cups of banana. I also used only brown sugar and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. I baked at 325 degrees and started checking it at 50 minutes, but 60 minutes ended up being the final baking time. I am baking in high altitude, but didn't make any adjustment for it other than using less sugar - and I just prefer my bread not to be as sweet as a lot of recipes call for. Great texture with the oats, we loved how chewy and dense it is...and still moist...as my mom said. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Delicious! I will be making this again! I followed the recipe exactly. My husband ate half of it and I just made it! This will be great for a gift during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Love these!! These were excellent! Very flavorful Moist perfecto! I did use all butter an all brown sugar i made a topping with almonds,walnuts,oats and some Browning sugar an a little butter yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States