Oatmeal Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Elle
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very good. Baked it in a glass 9x5 pan at 325 for 70 minutes. Except for using pecans instead of walnuts and changing the baking time & temp, I followed the recipe. Great as a breakfast bread. Might try brown sugar in it next time just to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
My husband said that this is way better than regular banana bread! After I started I realized that I didn't have any plain old oatmeal, so I used flavored instant oatmeal, I picked cinnamon roll flavor. It took longer to bake than the recipe said- about and hour and 5 minutes. I'll definitely make this again and I might even use flavored oatmeal on purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Everyone loved it!!! I added two Tablespoons butter so it would not be dry...after reading other reviews. It also had to cook longer than 55 minutes to get the center 'done'...but it turned out wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is the best bread ever. I tried this recipe for the first time over a year ago and have not made any other since. Do not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very nice banana bread - I doubled the recipe to make two loaves and followed recipe exactly except probably used a bit more banana, about 4 large ones. Nice flavor, moist with a slightly crisp crust. This is probably one of my favorite banana bread recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I didn't have any nuts (for once) and I was hoarding my chocolate chips so I subbed in chopped dates. They're a little drier than I usually take my quickbreads, but it has a really nice crunchy crust which is tough to get and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ModernSteph
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Tastes great but could use more banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Absolutely DELICIOUS! Instead of using plain quick oats, I used two packages of instant oatmeal cinnamon and spice flavor...as well as a cranberry, orange, golden raisin, pecan and walnut blend of nuts that I had on hand. Finally I did add 1 1/2 cups of mashed bananas...and the outcome was stupendous! This is the best bread I have ever tasted since my Grammie's years ago. I might also add...instead of being dry this bread is super moist and again, utterly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana726

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was so moist. I used butter instead of shortening and 3 very ripe medium bananas. This has a nice flavor. When it's cooled, it holds together so nice to make slicing easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States