Oatmeal Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe is absolutely GREAT! I made it using brown suger, and added half cup of peanut butter, a cup of Craisins, and a chopped up bar of dark chocolate. Baked up very dark brown. To die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
My 9 year old daughter and I loved this. She said it is one of the best things she has ever tasted. It melts in your mouth. I used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 applesauce to make a little healthier. Plus the only oatmeal I had was a package of apples & cinnamon instant oatmeal. So put a whole package of it in. Then used pecans instead of walnuts because I had them on hand. We will add raisins next time-- daughter's suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
One of the best recipes. Made large muffins with this and baked it for about 35 minutes. Bananas were very ripe. Added about 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp almond extract, omitted walnuts ( for PawPaw!). Personal preferences- I believe that without these small changes, it is still one of the best recipes. all of the ingredients were already in my kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Basic recipe is quite good. I made the following changes: I used organic solidified coconut oil instead of shortening. I used C&H sugar/stevia blend instead of real sugar. I used half stoneground whole wheat pastry flour with regular unbleached flour. I used old fashioned oats. I also added 1/3 cup sweetened coconut. The coconut added a wonderful flavor. And 1 tsp. of Saigon Cinnamon. Also, I use organic ingredients whenever possible. This banana bread turned out great! It is truly THE best banana bread I have ever made. I have been baking over 40 years for friends and family so I am pleased with the results. I believe the changes I made to the recipe made it better. A note: I have made pie crust with the coconut oil and it is fantastic. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Dooley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is my go to banana bread. Perfect every time and always goes quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My new favorite banana bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Delicious!!! I used regular old fashioned oats, which I loved the texture it gave the bread. Added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and for the sugar did 1/2 cup granulated and 1/4 of brown sugar and the bread was perfect. This is my go to banana bread recipe from now on. Happy Baking Everyone. BTW My loaf was ready at the 45 min mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I was about 1/2 cup short of mashed bananas, so I added mashed pear. I also added chocolate chips. Took longer to cook but came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Great recipe. I added more banana and cinnamon powder and it came out really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
So addicting. Took the advice of another reviewer and added nutmeg, cinnamon and cloves. Used combined brown and regular sugar of about 1/2-3/4 full and more bananas. Oatmeal, brown sugar and cinnamon for the topping. Fabulous. We couldn't stop eating this. Ate it with honey butter but just as good without it, really. I may buy bananas and let them go bad for this recipe alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States