Oatmeal Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Hello! I was looking for a good banana nut bread recipe to make to give as Christmas gifts along with a Yankee Banana Nut Bread candle. This recipe is fantastic. The bread is wonderful and is very attractive to wrap in cellophane and give in a gift bag. I tweeked the recipe a little, at the suggestion of some other readers. I used 1 1/2 cup of RIPE bananas. I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the batter. As a finishing touch, I mixed a tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of sugar and about 1/4 cup of oatmeal flakes and then sprinkled them on the top. It is delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Really good, classic banana nut bread taste. Use lots of extra banana, especially if you are generous with the nuts - they seem to cut a little of the banana-ness from the flavor (I doubled the recipe and poured the first loaf without nuts before adding them to the batter for the second loaf. The no-nut version, although the very same batter, was much more banana-ier!). I also followed the suggestion of an earlier reviewer and sprinkled the batter with extra oatmeal before baking - what a pretty touch! We will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I had some left-over banana's from Christmas and wanted to try a new recipe. My old recipe turned out a dense, drier type of loaf that usually ended up too brown and too crumbly. I surfed onto this recipe and gave it a shot. WOW! This is an awesome bread! I love the texture as well as the taste. The addition of the oats is a big plus too. I added a bit (1/4 tsp.) of cinnamon to my batter, and topped it with a brown sugar/oats/cinnamon struesel type of topping. It turned out great, and I am making another loaf in the morning! I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone. It is quick, easy, and sensational. Thanks for the recipe and God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunlow, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
great recipe! I used fat-free vanilla yogurt for half the shortening and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
Very good banana nut bread with the added twist of oatmeal. I think I baked it too long this time because it turned out a bit dry, but moistness actually improved as bread sat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
I made this last week for my church group, served it with honey butter and there wasn't a crumb left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
I thought this turned out great! The oats give it a great texture and fullness. I had to cook it a bit longer to get through all the way to the middle, but it was tasty when all was said and done. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Very good! I lowered it a star because there were no spices. I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp cloves. I also substituted butter for the shortening. I believe I used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar too. I used 4 brown/black bananas which were more than the 1 cup banana called for. I added twice the nuts (a full 1 cup). I took the suggestion of some and turned the oven down to 325*F. I made muffins and after 23 minutes they were perfect! I also used the topping another reviewer suggested: 1/8 cup oats, 1 tbsp brown sugar, and 1 tsp cinnamon. They were soo pretty with the oats on top! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPenguinStar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
This recipe was so easy to make and it was so YUMMY!!!!! It doesn't last a day at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This recipe made a great bread. The oatmeal gives a wonderful texture yet the bread is still moist. I added another 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla as well as a couple dashes of ground cinnamon for flavor. I also left out the walnuts as we were out. My only complaint is that the edges of the bread were very crusty and very hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States