Oatmeal Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is very good moist bread. I like the added fiber from the oats, but they do not change the wonderful flavor. For an even healthier bread, substitute applesauce for 1/2 of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Likens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
the only thing i changed was using butter instead of shortening. it came out very dense and oddly dry and oily at the same time. it was the perfect amount of batter for a large loaf pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This recipe is definitely a keeper for me! Hands down, one of the best loaves I've ever made - and it turned out great the very first try, even with the small adjustments I made. My dad even remarked that it was one of the best, and he's had a tremendous amount of bread-tasting experience over the years as I've tried new banana bread recipes, hoping to find or create the perfect one. I did use 3 bananas that were the equivalent of 1 1/2 cups of banana. I also used only brown sugar and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. I baked at 325 degrees and started checking it at 50 minutes, but 60 minutes ended up being the final baking time. I am baking in high altitude, but didn't make any adjustment for it other than using less sugar - and I just prefer my bread not to be as sweet as a lot of recipes call for. Great texture with the oats, we loved how chewy and dense it is...and still moist...as my mom said. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Delicious! I will be making this again! I followed the recipe exactly. My husband ate half of it and I just made it! This will be great for a gift during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Love these!! These were excellent! Very flavorful Moist perfecto! I did use all butter an all brown sugar i made a topping with almonds,walnuts,oats and some Browning sugar an a little butter yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Banana breads are for tweaking. There are so many versions but I like this one the best and so I made it more healthy by making the usual changes of applesauce for oil, egg whites only, half honey and brown sugar but also added spices because it's nearing Christmas. Used whole wheat flour. Bake time was an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
very moist. everyone in my family loves it! even those who don't like bananas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Very easy to make and taste nice too. It looks beautiful in my loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Little River, Kansas, USA
Living In: Comstock, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Good banana bread recipe. I only had about a 1/4 cup of walnuts, and substituted dried cranberries for the other 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I thought this a good receipe. I did make changes like others have. Instead of shortening I used butter, I used about 1/2 c. sugar. I wanted to use brown sugar but didn't have any. Also used all the bananas I had which were about 5 small which came to about 1 3/4 cups, added cloves, nutmeg, pecans, and 1/4 c. wheat bran flakes. Baked it at 325 for about 65 minutes. Delicious, I want to try it again using more bran and/or wheat flour. My husband liked it so when it passes him it must be good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States