Oatmeal Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was so moist. I used butter instead of shortening and 3 very ripe medium bananas. This has a nice flavor. When it's cooled, it holds together so nice to make slicing easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
LOVE this recipe. I use 1/4 applesauce 1/4 oil or butter (what ever I have) in place of the shortening...The kids love it and don't even know it's good for them (sometimes I will add a shredded carrot or Zuccini to add a veggie in there)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
The oatmeal adds interesting texture, but I've made tastier banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crumpet
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Delicious! My shortening wasn't creaming with the sugar very smoothly, so I added two tbs softened butter to help it along, plus a tiny bit of cinnamon, and did not add nuts (I love them, others in the house don't.) Also, I only had 2 bananas, so to up the banana-flavor ante, I used bananas and cream oatmeal packets. Whenever I make banana bread, I sprinkle the top of the batter in the pan with brown sugar so it makes a hard caramelized crust. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crumpet

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I made this for my husband. I actually followed the recipe for a change w/o any significant changes. I used 1/2 shortening & 1/2 butter and an unknown number of bananas (mine were pieces left over from my son that I'd frozen). I also added a pinch of cinnamon. The bread was nicely moist and my son & husband liked it. My parents enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carebear71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was great!! Very moist and tasty, the only change I made was to add some cinnamon and some oats on top of the bread. Maybe next time as another review said to put streusal topping on. My 9 mo old is going to town on it right now! Definetly keeping, thank for great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I made this bread in muffin form and added a layer of brown sugar on the top when baking in the oven. This recipe is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I found this to be a very heavy and dry banana bread, it was good but not quite what I was after. I did change some things though so maybe it was my additions. I added roasted almonds instead of walnuts, chopped dark chocolate, and 1 tsp cinnamon. I added the strusel top as a reviewer advised. taste was good, had to use lots of butter or jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! I didn't change anything & it is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States