Oatmeal Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jett's Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I agreed with one of the review, this recipe is dry and I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I love this bread and so does my family. I've been making this bread for many years. I don't change a thing. I got this recipe off an oatmeal box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I liked this banana bread and would rate it between a 4~5. It really bakes up nicely and I chose to garnish the top with old-fashioned oats like the main picture. Its a perfect recipe for me, because it is not overly sweet or too rich tasting. I like banana bread or muffins for breakfast. The oatmeal really cut through sticky sweet taste I associate with so many quick breads. It made it a little more hearty. It is a precise mix between oatmeal quick breads and a banana one. My only change was using salted butter instead of shortening. I may even test additional healthy subs since I liked the oatmeal added. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by backyardescape
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Great recipe! I took other's suggestions & added more bananas, a little cinamon & topped it off with a little oats/sugar. Doubled the batch to give to my neighbor! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This recipe made for very moist banana bread. I used 4 bananas, used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar, and added in a teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg, and a 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to the batter. I also did as others suggested and mixed together some cinnamon, sugar, and oats and sprinkled on top before putting the batter in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Too crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I used half brown sugar and half white sugar, and half shortening and half softened butter. Minus the nuts bc my roomate has a nut allergy, but that didnt make a difference! It was still an excellent bread with fantastic taste! I did take some advice and bake this at 300° and checked it at 55 minutes. The toothpick came out clean so i hurried and yanked it out. I may have slightly overbaked it but even if i did, i couldnt tell. It was still very moist and delicious. Word of advice, if you dont have any bananas on hand or your bananas arent quite rip enough, subsitute it for pureed banana baby food! Works just the same, and save you wait of waiting for bananas to ripen..enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennbabe1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Brinster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I baked it this morning.. I used ''Vegetable Oil'' instead of shortening.. and followed the recipe to a T... I brushed some honey over the top after if was done and sprinkled Oats over it... It's very moist ... could use some ''spices'', but it's still good... will make for ''Gifts'' over the Holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Littlerock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe is absolutely GREAT! I made it using brown suger, and added half cup of peanut butter, a cup of Craisins, and a chopped up bar of dark chocolate. Baked up very dark brown. To die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States