Oatmeal Apricot Crisps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
5 stars from my husband! I did cherries and almonds instead of apricots and seeds, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Will also be trying the original flavors soon (just didn't happen to have apricot at the time). The only minus is that this dough is hard to work with, since it's so crumbly, but the taste is out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
It's unfair of me to rate this because I changed it so much, I took advice from others and added cinnamon, and nutmeg, I reduced the sugar, and used fresh apricots. Since I used fresh apricots, I would probably double the amount of apricots next time, you couldn't taste them, they got mixed into the batter too much.I only added 3/4 cup white sugar, and 1/4 cup brown sugar, next time I will add 1 cup white, and 1/2 cup brown, just not quite the 2 cups it calls for. GREAT cookies, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krysta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Very good cookie. I made them without the sunflower seeds and they were perfect. Used quick oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Good, but little more than an oatmeal sugar cookie. The half cup of apricots was insufficient. I would double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I made half a batch of these following the recipe to a T. They are nice to eat with a cup of coffee in the morning because they are not too sweet. I find that the first bite of each cookie is quite a surprise because of the sunflower seeds, which I normally like---just not in these. I'll try this again but with slivered almonds, which would make more sense to me. I'll try them again with that change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Odd as they may be, these we really a hit! These were moist and chewy; the flavors are a great twist on a basic oatmeal cookie. As usual I used a combination of white spelt and whole spelt flours instead of wheat. Following reviewers advice I cut back on the sugar using 3/4 c. white and 1/4 c. brown and replaced an egg with applesauce. Also added cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla. I forgot to flatten my test batch before they went in the oven but it worked out great so I didn't do it to the rest. I ended up with nearly 48 cookies! These freeze well, they still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This was good, but I think too sweet and bland. Maybe more cinnamon (I used 1 tsp) and some nutmeg would help? I only put in 1 2/3 c sugar but next time I will try maybe 1 c. I only used 1 egg and I added 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce. I didn't want to hassle with chopping dried apricots so I used a pre-chopped dried Tropical Fruit mixture. I baked on wax paper for 12 min, but my cookies were bigger than 1" balls (I just dropped 2" blobs on the cookie sheet.) The batter was just right, the cookie held together well and was a little chewy. Not sure where the crisp part came in??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made only a few slight changes. I was out of eggs, so I used a 1/2 cup applesauce instead. I also added the smallest dash of vanilla extract and omitted the sunflower seeds since I did not have any. These were *amazing* right out of the oven. The apricots were still warm and the flavor was great. They were still good the next day...soft, perfect texture (probably from the applesauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Yum! A very wholesome and tasty cookie! I modified this a bit based on what I had on hand. I didn't quiet have 1/2 cup butter, so I added some unsweetened applesauce. I didn't have sunflower seeds, so I used flax seeds. I used white wheat flour and added some vanilla extract and a few dashed of cloves for some added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyman, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I really like these cookies, however it is for the out-side-of-the-box flavor they have. Every bite I take seems as though it's missing something. I will experiment with the recipe and see how I can really give it that pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States