Oatmeal Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Just what a bread should be like, and quite healthy as well as tasty. I used unsweetened applesauce and exact amounts of ingredients (2.5 teaspoons yeast since I had a jar, not packages). Give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I liked this a lot. It rises nicely (but I added 2 T. gluten). It's also easy to make. I used half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This is a very good basic bread recipe. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRLangille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I found this to be the best, most soft and flavorful bread machine bread I have ever had! The touch of applesauce gives it a light, sweet taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cortez, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This made a great breakfast bread! I used 2 tablespoons of honey instead of white sugar to make it a little sweeter, and because I don't like to use white sugar, and everyone loved it for breakfast with peanut butter. With my substitution it needed to bake a few minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
a delicious light and fluffy bread! It made perfect loaves and toasts beautifully! I substituted soy for the dry milk to make it dairy free, and also two diced apples to make it a little more "chunky".... I needed to add a little more flour, probably due to the substitution of soy, but what a fantastic taste! Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
I made a loaf of this bread for my grandmother, and she said it was fantastic. The taste, texture, everything. Coming from a former home economics teacher and renowned cook, that meant a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made these as rolls instead of as a loaf. Amazing! They were soft, light brown colored, and had a slight oaty taste. My mom loved them. I would make them again. I think I subbed the dry milk powder for 3 tablespoons of milk without any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Very good stuff!!! I haven't tried any major variations yet, but it seems to be very good without any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
MMMM Smells like oatmeal cookies when baking. Very good, lightly sweet bread. Don't really taste the applesauce, but still very good and moist! I am making another loaf tonight. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States