Oatmeal Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Just what a bread should be like, and quite healthy as well as tasty. I used unsweetened applesauce and exact amounts of ingredients (2.5 teaspoons yeast since I had a jar, not packages). Give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
MMMM Smells like oatmeal cookies when baking. Very good, lightly sweet bread. Don't really taste the applesauce, but still very good and moist! I am making another loaf tonight. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This is a great recipe! I used apple juice instead of water. No sugar but a tablespoon of molasses. 2 cups flour and 1/2 cup oats. Is so yummy. I also tried it with putting a cinnamon swirl in the bread by rolling it out into a rectangle, putting just a little bit of applesauce on it and sprinkling a brown sugar/cinnamon mix on it, rolling it up short end, sealing it with a little water and put in the bread pan seal side down. YUM-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandygirl238

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
The first time I made this, it wasn't moist or tender, but the taste was great - so I tweaked it a bit - substituted 1 c. of whole wheat flour, used milk instead of powdered milk, added some more spice and upped the applesauce by an extra table spoon - and now it is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Great recipe just as it is, but you can tweak it without fear of ruining it. Used apple butter in stead of sauce, brown sugar instead of white, reduced flour 1/4 cup and used 1/2 cup oatmeal. I don't have yeast packets so I used two teaspoons dry yeast (elevation 5300 feet). everyone likes both versions. Next time I make it I will use some of the other reviewers suggestions such as using some whole wheat and I'll add some dried cranberries. Oh yeah....I'll hide the loaf until breakfast so I can have more than one slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This made a great breakfast bread! I used 2 tablespoons of honey instead of white sugar to make it a little sweeter, and because I don't like to use white sugar, and everyone loved it for breakfast with peanut butter. With my substitution it needed to bake a few minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I liked this a lot. It rises nicely (but I added 2 T. gluten). It's also easy to make. I used half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
I made a loaf of this bread for my grandmother, and she said it was fantastic. The taste, texture, everything. Coming from a former home economics teacher and renowned cook, that meant a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
Very nice bread. Very Moist and not too sweet, just the way I like it ;) Only thing was that the top of the bread sunk, I think I should have added abit more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Rock on buddy, this is an awesome recipe! I didn't have rolled oats so I used quick oats, and I also used 1/2 cup of them and reduced the flour by 1/4 cup to compensate. I also subbed some whole wheat flour for some of the white flour. Very moist, slices pretty easy, I made mine on the light crust setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States