Oatmeal Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Rock on buddy, this is an awesome recipe! I didn't have rolled oats so I used quick oats, and I also used 1/2 cup of them and reduced the flour by 1/4 cup to compensate. I also subbed some whole wheat flour for some of the white flour. Very moist, slices pretty easy, I made mine on the light crust setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made these as rolls instead of as a loaf. Amazing! They were soft, light brown colored, and had a slight oaty taste. My mom loved them. I would make them again. I think I subbed the dry milk powder for 3 tablespoons of milk without any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Very good stuff!!! I haven't tried any major variations yet, but it seems to be very good without any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This is a very good basic bread recipe. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRLangille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
MMMM Smells like oatmeal cookies when baking. Very good, lightly sweet bread. Don't really taste the applesauce, but still very good and moist! I am making another loaf tonight. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Nice. No apple taste, but nice texture :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
a delicious light and fluffy bread! It made perfect loaves and toasts beautifully! I substituted soy for the dry milk to make it dairy free, and also two diced apples to make it a little more "chunky".... I needed to add a little more flour, probably due to the substitution of soy, but what a fantastic taste! Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This bread was just ok. It does not work very well for sandwiches. I had to add a lot of flour and I thought the cinnamon gave it a weird taste. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This is a great recipe! I used apple juice instead of water. No sugar but a tablespoon of molasses. 2 cups flour and 1/2 cup oats. Is so yummy. I also tried it with putting a cinnamon swirl in the bread by rolling it out into a rectangle, putting just a little bit of applesauce on it and sprinkling a brown sugar/cinnamon mix on it, rolling it up short end, sealing it with a little water and put in the bread pan seal side down. YUM-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Gagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This made a great breakfast bread! I used 2 tablespoons of honey instead of white sugar to make it a little sweeter, and because I don't like to use white sugar, and everyone loved it for breakfast with peanut butter. With my substitution it needed to bake a few minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States