Oatmeal Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe is great but like most reviewers, I tweaked it a little. I doubled down on the butter and cinnamon, halved the sugar, and used unsweetened applesauce. I also subbed the last 1/4 cup of flour with whole wheat. My dough came out a little sticky during the kneading, so I added about 3 tablespoons of extra flour and more than a tablespoon of extra oatmeal as the machine worked it. Right before the bake cycle, I sprinkled a few more oatmeal bits on top. As it rose, the house filled with the most delicious aroma! I wish I'd thought to toss in some nutmeg or allspice, maybe even some cardamom. I will definitely do so next time. And there will be a next time - this recipe makes a wonderful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
An excellent sweet bread. I added 1/4 cup raisins and 1/4 cup chopped walnuts, and increased the cinnamon to 1.5 Tbsp. It made a small, solid loaf, just sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This tastes like what my European boyfriend calls "real bread." I didn't use butter at all (since applesauce can be used as a substitute for butter), but the inside had a nice, hearty structure to it. It doesn't taste or smell much like cinnamon or apples, so it's great for dipping into soup. The outside of the bread was too hard, but I suspect it has more to do with my bread machine than this recipe, since all of my loaves come out a little overcooked. Will have to try again and shave 5-10 minutes off the baking time at the end. Next time, I'll experiment with putting chopped apples and walnuts in it, plus allspice and nutmeg (to make it more like apple pie).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I made this and thought it had great texture but didn't care for the flavor. My hubby didn't care for it either. I will be finishing my loaf up as morning toast though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is a great recipe! I have to admit I haven't tried it "as is" because I tend to healthify things, but even the healthier version is delicious and I get complimented on it, so I imagine the original would be yummier if anything. I replace the sugar with honey, 1 cup of the flour with whole wheat flour, and the butter with coconut oil, and it turns out fabulously. I do have to add more water than the recipe says (about 3-5 tbsp) but I'm not sure if that's the recipe or because of our dry environment or the whole wheat flour. I would definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing this recipe; the bread turned out perfect with a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is SO good. I didn't have rolled oats, so I used old fashioned oats instead. Worked fine. I also added a little more cinnamon than the recipe called for because I wanted it to taste "breakfasty" which it did. I assembled it the night before and programmed the bread machine to have it ready when we woke up. Yumm-o. If you do that, be sure to add a little extra water, so it doesn't dry out over night. Will for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjwalsh97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Very nice bread. I switched the amounts of applesauce and water so I'd get more of an applesauce taste (and so I could use up some applesauce!). I put in a little moe than 1/4 cup of water, so I increased the flour by 1/4 cup to compensate. This made a pretty small loaf, and I mixed the dough in the bread machine, then took it out, let it rise for 30 mins, and baked at 375 for 40 minutes. It turned out soft inside with a nice chewy crust. It could've been the applesauce I used (sugar free strawberry applesauce), but it has a bit of a sour taste that I like. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Smells great, tastes okay. I made this with one cup of bread flour and 1 1/4 cups of whole wheat flour. I would probably not use as much whole wheat next time so that it's not so dense and rises faster too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This bread is awesome - even though it doesn't taste applesauce-y or oatmeal-y. That part was disappointing. But as a general bread, it's really quite delicious. We modified it by using 1 cup bread flour, 1.25 c whole wheat flour, (1 tbsp vital wheat gluten) and 1.25 tsp of cinnamon (instead of 1/2 tsp) and instead of white sugar, an organic sugar in the raw. Cooked it on whole wheat setting, medium crust so it came out really light and airy. Next time will try more applesauce, more oats, probably honey instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States