Oatmeal Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I LOVED this recipe as a healthy option and is great asa breakfast muffin. Theo nly changes I made, based on the other reviews was changing the temp. to 350, I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour, I did'nt have half and half cream so I used 1% milk and it was fine, I also added ground flax seed. The walnuts, dried cranberries and apple are amazing together in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Definately have the oven at 350, not 450! These are yummy muffins! I didn't have half/half (nor did I want the calories) so I used fat-free evaporated milk. I omitted the cranberries and nuts since the family doesn't care for them. Didn't have quick oats, so I ground 1 cup of regular oats in the blender to make a flour. I also made one recipe with Splenda and one with sugar. My husband did not care for the aftertaste of the Splenda muffins, and with only a 1/3 cup of sugar, this doesn't add much sugar per muffin. I will stick to this next time. I shredded the apple, as well. Very moist, yummy and good-as well as healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I only had white flour on hand and used that. I didn't have problems with it being too dry at all. I tasted a bit of the baking powder though, so I might change that a bit next time. Other than that, they were great and my 1 year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrenae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I took other people's reviews into account shredded the apples and baked it at 350 for 20 min. They turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Yum! The recipe tasted great despite using plain milk and omitting the raisins and walnuts. My muffins were done a touch early, so keep an eye on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
So, for a healthy muffin, this was pretty darn good. Relatively low fat, and some good fiber and protein content. I substituted 2% milk for the half-and-half and used 1/2 cup whole wheat and flour and 1/2 cup of white flour. I also omitted the raisins, nuts, and nutmeg to suit my own tastes. I'm VERY glad someone else mentioned the 350/450 mishap or I might have missed it. I baked them at 350 and they came out just fine--I think 450 would be a mistake. The apples are the best part--next time around, I would use more. The muffins are still moist but could use a little more flavor. I will be making these again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
These are incredible! The only changes I made are: replaced cream with 1% milk, and added 1/2 cup pecans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I used spelt flour in this recipe. We liked the muffins, it was kind of like eating apple crisp in muffin-form due to the texture and spices. Next time I will grate the apple to see if the helps with moisture - mine were a bit dry. This is a very healthy recipe and I was pleased with the results. If you are looking for super moist, sweet, light and fluffy muffins you should go with a full fat version made with refined flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I am amazed that this temperature is right - 450 would never work for a muffin! They are great when baked at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I have modified this recipe and made it quite a few times. I omit the walnuts but add extra fruit - 1/3 cup each of chopped prunes, craisins, apricots and raisins, and one tablespoon of sunflower seeds. I use regular rolled oats, 1/4 cup of oil (instead of the stated measure). Also, I grate the apple rather than chop it and this makes the mixture much more moist. I bake in an 10 cup bar muffin tray (instead of the round ones)for around 20 minutes. The result is a golden brown, flavoursome, substantial and very filling jumbo muffin that we use as a breakfast alternative - on busy days we eat in the car on the way to work. PS. I have also used smaller round muffin moulds and have gotten about 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplepiscean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States